Reducing render noise?

edited May 2019 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hello everyone!

I want to first apologize if this question has been asked before, but I'm a newbie when it comes to DAZ and I seem to have an issue with the noise when rendering.

So, my question is - as the title states - how can I reduce the noise? If any additional info is needed, please let me know!

Any answers or tips are highly appreciated! Thank you!

Post edited by Cris Palomino on

Comments

• AllenArtAllenArt Posts: 7,140

Well, the beta has a denoiser, but it only works 1) with an Iray card and 2) if your entire scene fits on the GPU and is rendering on the GPU. It will not work if it drops the render to CPU.

There is also a denoiser that you can apply after your render is finished and info can be found here.

• LenioTGLenioTG Posts: 2,116
    edited May 2019

Go with the Intel denoiser, it's very easy to use, it works with AMD CPUs too and it doesn't slow down your renders!

Taosoft has done a simple web page to summarize the great thread that @AllenArt has linked you! :D

https://taosoft.dk/software/freeware/dnden/

That is if you need to denoise an already done render. Otherwise, the factors you want to keep an eye on are

• Lights: a good lighting reduces noise by a lot
    • Render time: the more time you render, the less noise will remain. Keep in mind that Nvidia GPUs are very fast, but almost every CPU is pretty slow.
    Post edited by LenioTG on
  • edited May 2019
    AllenArt said:

Well, the beta has a denoiser, but it only works 1) with an Iray card and 2) if your entire scene fits on the GPU and is rendering on the GPU. It will not work if it drops the render to CPU.

There is also a denoiser that you can apply after your render is finished and info can be found here.

Yes, I do have an Nvidia card, and I also render without using the CPU.

Is this denoiser automatically applied or do I need to change something?

And thank you!

Post edited by Cris Palomino on