Help! Has my account been hacked?

ElgyfuElgyfu Posts: 279

For some reason I am still signed in on this computer, so can post here.

I can not sign in on my phone or another browser as it is saying the password is wrong.  I am sure I am typing it right, but as I did recently change it, there is a wee chance I have just forgotten it.

BUT  I can not reset the password because it says the email address is wrong.  It is defintely my email, as I have been using on Daz since 2002.

I can access the account page on this computer (as still logged in here), but can not reset the password because I can not put in the correct "current password".

I am worried that someone has hacked the account.  I have had no emails to say anything has changed, btw.

I have submitted a ticket but don't know what to do next.  It is Easter weekend, so am fretting it will take ages to sort.

Elgyfu

Comments

• frankrblowfrankrblow Posts: 2,052

If you have any credit/debit card information attached to your Daz account, you need to contact your bank and ask them to put a hold or lock on the cards involved. Do that right now.

Daz staff will probably be unavailable until after the holiday weekend, so your only recourse is your bank.

• ElgyfuElgyfu Posts: 279

I can see the account page, the email address on there is my usual one.

I also just tried opening my Download Manager, it logged in fine using whatever password it has stored (which of course I can't see)

So logically my email address is still associated with this account and fine...

But for some reason I can't use it to reset the password, so maybe it is a glitch with Daz rather than my being hacked?

The credit card connected to my account is long expired.  I don't think anyone can pay with Amazon or paypal without knowing my passwords for those sites, can they?

• frankrblowfrankrblow Posts: 2,052