PyCarrara question

PjotterPjotter Posts: 274
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Very soon I want to start using PyCarrara. But I am not very good at this stuff. It will be a lot of studying. Not familiar at all with Python.

Am I correct that PyCarrara can move, rotate and scale any object?
Does this include the bone structure? With IK it should be doable?
I know, the source is a midi file. Does this mean I can use any track from a midi file. So drum + strings for instance?

Comments

• 3drendero3drendero Posts: 2,017
    edited December 1969

Not too many PyCarrara experts in the Forum unfortunately.

Have you tried the sample scenes and looking at how they are built?
    Looked at them a long time ago, as far as I remember the answer is yes to your questions, but looking and knowing is not the same thing...

You can also try to PM f1oat, he has been seen in the Forum.

• GrokDDGrokDD Posts: 59
    edited December 1969

Pjotter,

Share what ever you find out, I'm about 2 months away from delving into PyCarrara.

I'm tackling Away3D this month.

Good Luck!

• PjotterPjotter Posts: 274
    edited December 1969

3drendero said:

Have you tried the sample scenes and looking at how they are built?

Yes, that is a good idea. Meanwhile I have found his YouTube channel and there is a kind of walk. So somehow it is possible. Well, a lot of studying to do. Scripting is not my kind of thing.

For the ones who are also not familiar, his download page and the Youtube channel:

http://pycarrara.sourceforge.net/

http://www.youtube.com/user/f1oat3d/videos?view=0&sort=dd&shelf_index=0

• Philemo_CarraraPhilemo_Carrara Posts: 1,175
    edited December 1969

Pjotter said:
    Very soon I want to start using PyCarrara. But I am not very good at this stuff. It will be a lot of studying. Not familiar at all with Python.

Am I correct that PyCarrara can move, rotate and scale any object?
    Does this include the bone structure? With IK it should be doable?