Rendering in Daz vs Maya quality/detail difference question

brettnucklesbrettnuckles Posts: 86
edited February 2018 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hi everyone, I'm a 2D artist who wants to get into some simple 3D to use as reference for my illustrations. So frankly I don't know much about the technical side of 3D rendering as it relates to things like textures, shaders, materials and the like (althought I am trying to learn). So heads up that I know this is a super naive question but I hope that someone will bear with me :)

First a tiny bit of context. I love Daz because the figures are amazingly detailed and beautiful and versatile. However I aboslutely DON'T love using the Daz software itself. I have some basic experience in Maya and I can say that Maya feels 100x nicer to use IMO. Just navigating around the viewport in Maya is super fast. I can set up a variety of elements,  and then move, rotate and scale them very quickly and easily. Ditto with setting up lights to experiement with different lighting scenarios. In comparison, the Daz UI is incredibly slow and clunky IMO. Maya also allows me to quickly throw in simple custom-modeled 3D elements as part of my scene which is very important to me because I don't want to always rely on expensive pre-made props from the Daz store.