Can you create a cube and then separately uv map each surface?

edited December 1969 in Hexagon Discussion

Comments

• Orion_UkOrion_Uk Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

BlitzMan said:

Im sure there is a way in carrara but as im kinda new to it i use this ...

http://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/index.aspx

;)

• AscaniaAscania Posts: 1,838
    edited December 1969

Using Cubic Projection to uv map a cube is a rather trivial exercise in Hexagon that does not require an external program, Orion_Uk.

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,711
    edited December 1969

in Carrara I would just create a new shading domain on each side and flat map it, in the shader room as well picking that face.
    otherwise a cube is usually 6 pictures on a 3x2 sqaure unwrapped depending on what uv mapping is applied to the obj
    so just shuffle and rotate your clipboard piccys using irfanview's panorama function or paint's area select until they go where you want.

• Orion_UkOrion_Uk Posts: 0
    edited May 2012

Ascania said:
    Using Cubic Projection to uv map a cube is a rather trivial exercise in Hexagon that does not require an external program, Orion_Uk.

My bad..lol.

Post edited by Orion_Uk on
  • RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
    edited December 1969

in Carrara I would just create a new shading domain on each side and flat map it

You can do the same in Hex - just hide the faces not being mapped.

Seems pretty pointless on a simple cube, but is a handy method for something more complicated.

• edited May 2012

BlitzMan said:

I'm not at all sure what you mean by "surface".

If by "each surface" you mean "each face", when you UV map a mesh, every vertex gets laid out on a plane. I know of no method or program that will allow you to, say, map a single face and its 4 vertices on a cube while not mapping the other vertices (and their associated faces).