Is Daz Studio right for me?

I'm a photographic artist that primarily creates photographic image composites using Photoshop CS6. Occassionally I need a human figure in my compositions, but the cost of shooting live models is prohibitive. Can I create a human figure in Daz Studio as needed (pose & lighting) and then import it into my Photoshop composition?  That is, can I convert the 3D image created in Daz Studio to a 2D file format (JPEG?)  that I can use in Photoshop? Thanks.

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604

yes,  That is really the main use of DS, to create 2d images.

• Chohole said:

yes,  That is really the main use of DS, to create 2d images.

What file formats can DS produce that I can use in Photoshop? JPEG? TIFF? Thanks.

• The default render format is PNG; I think it can do most of the common standard filetypes.

• It's not so much "creating a human figure", as it is setting up a 3D scene with people, hair, clothes, animals, props, scenery, lighting etc., then rendering that into a 2D image as seen through a camera. The main image formats are jpg, tif and png, but note that the jpg option doesn't seem to have really good compression controls; I prefer to save all my renders as tif and worry about compression settings after I've done any postwork.

• It's not so much "creating a human figure", as it is setting up a 3D scene with people, hair, clothes, animals, props, scenery, lighting etc., then rendering that into a 2D image as seen through a camera. The main image formats are jpg, tif and png, but note that the jpg option doesn't seem to have really good compression controls; I prefer to save all my renders as tif and worry about compression settings after I've done any postwork.