Carrara Running Slow?

VisioneerVisioneer Posts: 158
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Is it just me, or does the most recent release of Carrara seem to be running like SUPER slow? My system is no slouch, and it is pretty strong on resources, but Carrara seems to be having a tough time, even at 64-bit, to the point that it seems almost unworkable at times. Are there any options I can use to optimize this behavior?

Comments

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,711
    edited December 1969

not use smart content my only suggestion, that is a real killer for me
    as is Genesis but workable via import
    I set genesis stuff up in Daz studio and import it as it is easier
    Other Poser stuff is ok as is from Carrara browser not smart content as is my own stuff and objects.

• paulg625paulg625 Posts: 4
    edited December 1969

I'm a Noob to Carrara so this might be a given to you. I was having that problem because I didn't realize that Carrara kept all the scenes opened untill I actually closed them. Not like Daz 3d where it closes a file before starting a new one. This is actually a cool feature when you know it does it.

• araneldonaraneldon Posts: 712
    edited December 1969

What exactly do you mean? Slow doing what?

I didn't notice anything like this, but then I didn't have CMS installed most of the time, in case it has anything to do with that.

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,040
    edited December 1969

Some more information would really be helpful here. What OS, what's the hardware configuration, etc. There's also some things that can be done to optimize Carrara. Have you changed any of the preferences from the default, especially under imaging and scratch disk? Are you having an issue with a particular scene, what about a new scene?

• VisioneerVisioneer Posts: 158
    edited December 1969