Approximating soft body collision in Hexagon?

Hi, I am a complete and utter neophyte when it comes to modeling, so I don't even know if I am asking the right questions, please bear with me.

Thing is, I've had a martial arts project in the backburner for a long time and one of the things lacking in the images is the way bodies react to being hit, grasped or otherwise touched, so I was wondering what's the best way to go about it with morphs. Can I, for instance, take the fist of a figure and use it as a brush to mold another figure stomach? Should I select a number of faces and pull them straight out between grasping fingers? Is there a substantial difference between doing this for two figures interacting and for a single figure touching itself? Any suggestions are appreciated.

Comments

• Hermit CrabHermit Crab Posts: 833

Hexagon has displacement tools which I only tried using once before and again a couple of minutes ago to try to answer, but I am no expert.

The tools involve using a brush to 'paint' over the mesh - the denser the mesh the better. 

Physics collisions between objects are something else altogether.  Physics simulations take place over time. The program will calculate the changes in position of the objects in the simulation and try to detect collisions between them (or their parts - vertices, edges, faces).  Hexagon has no physics engine, however, so none of that applies here.

Hexagon can be used to create morphs, I believe, but no new geometry can be added to a morph - no vertices of the object being morphed can be deleted.

I attach a picture of a very dense cube mesh which I've altered with the displacement brush.

displacement.jpg
    1218 x 896 - 32K