Total Newbie Tutorial: How to apply a Surface Shader in DAZ Studio 4.5 Pro

SGCBearcubSGCBearcub Posts: 243
edited December 1969 in New Users

I admit it…I’m a total newbie. In fact, I’m such a newbie I can still count the number of renders I’ve done on the fingers of both hands. So why oh why would I write a tutorial?

Basically, because as newbies, sometimes we need a step-by-step on how to do the most basic tasks – in this case, applying a shader. Hopefully, this will be of some use to someone.

Step One:
Acquire some shaders. These can be purchased or downloaded for free and can do things like make a surface appear to be different types of fabric, or metal, or even stone or wood. (Note that this tutorial is not intended to explain light shaders).

Step Two:
Install your shader files. These could be executable files, or they could be zip files. Either way, install them the same way you would install any other file. Double-click on the .exe file or extract and move the zip files.

Step Three:
Load the model whose surface you want to change. Make sure that the name of the model is selected in the Parameters Tab.

Comments

• SGCBearcubSGCBearcub Posts: 243
    edited December 1969

Step Four:
    Open your surfaces tab by clicking WINDOW -- TABS -- SURFACES (color)

Tutorial_2.jpg
    1198 x 675 - 291K
    edited December 1969

Step Five:

The name of the model selected in the parameters tab will already be open in the surfaces tab. Click on the model’s name to apply the shader to the whole model.

Tutorial_3.jpg
    1200 x 800 - 297K
    edited February 2013

Step Six:

If the model is made up of parts, you can choose to apply the shader to only some of the parts at a time. To see the parts, click the triangle next to the model name to get a list of the parts. Click on the part you wish to change. (In this case, I have chosen Victoria 4.2 and SKIN FACE.

Tutorial_4.jpg
    1600 x 900 - 489K
    Post edited by SGCBearcub on
    edited December 1969

Step Seven: