UV Unwrapping (and ZBrushCore)

dreamfarmerdreamfarmer Posts: 2,128
edited July 2017 in The Commons

Hi! Yesterday I picked up ZBrushCore. Which I love. LOVE. But exporting models out exports out an untextured unpainted OBJ. Which, ok, fine.  I've been looking at 3d painting tools, specifically Substance and Blacksmith3d, which are both affordable on a month to month basis. But it seems like I need to have a cleanUV map before using them efficiently. Is there an easy, affordable way to do that?

Post edited by dreamfarmer on

Comments

• TottallouTottallou Posts: 555
    edited July 2017

I have Blacksmith 3D & Substance Painter , I am not an expert but I do know that opening an object file in either automatically brings up the UV map for painting so both do what you need

In Blacksmith the original texture shows on your model (assuming you export a textured model from Daz or other software) - the attached image in from Blacksmith as I had it open :)

In Substance Painter the original texture does not seem to come in automatically but I have not had it long & have not looked to do that & I have not needed the original  - In SP you can't paint across the UV so seams are a problem 

I guess it depends on what you want to do as to which is best but both have free trials so you can test them before buying

Edit - To add a screen shot of a model in SP so you can compare

blacksmith.JPG
    1168 x 575 - 68K
    SP.JPG
    1405 x 581 - 71K
    Post edited by Tottallou on
  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,380
    edited July 2017

Seams aren't that big a problem in Substance (depending on if your using Substance Designer or Painter) and the few that we did get you just need to take it into a texture painting program and clone over it.

Post edited by frank0314 on
    frank0314 said: