@ DAZ install manager: Why was there a need to create a new "public" default installation location?

12346»

Comments

• ken_7dac5ac5a2ken_7dac5ac5a2 Posts: 54
    edited December 1969

You'll need the Data folder from your old content folder. You could set up a content folder with just the Data folder, then you won't get any content duplicates but the .daz scenes will open.

Thanks. I am just beginning to understand the data folder. I don't seem to need it for the .daz files I converted to .duf. So, if I convert after restoring my old content folders or doing what you said, could I convert the remaining .daz to .duf and then not need these content folders any more?
  • fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969

I'm not absolutely certain -- there certainly isn't a problem if the scene was always saved as .duf, not sure about .daz scenes converted to .duf, but if the ones you've converted already work, I imagine the rest will, also.

• ken_7dac5ac5a2ken_7dac5ac5a2 Posts: 54
    edited February 2013

I'm not absolutely certain -- there certainly isn't a problem if the scene was always saved as .duf, not sure about .daz scenes converted to .duf, but if the ones you've converted already work, I imagine the rest will, also.

By converted, I mean saved as .duf. In any event I did what you suggested, and it is has worked out well. Almost all of my .daz scenes open successfully. I am making .duf's of them as I go, and I will use those in the future. The major exception was one I probably created when Genesis came out. Much of its content isn't there anymore, including in my old content directories.

The remaining problems seem to be with content (so far only Runtime/Textures/xxx) that DIM hasn't presented yet. Those are easily fixed by copying the required folder from the old stuff.