Is Carrara capable of modelling like zBrush?

SuperdogSuperdog Posts: 765
edited February 2013 in Carrara Discussion

I wonder if Carrara can be used to model unique figures like zBrush? I've been thinking of buying zBrush while I'm still a student but it's still £350/$550 which is a huge amount of outlay. Are there any cheaper alternatives that are nearly as good as zBrush?

Also, is Mudbox a credible alternative to zBrush and does it integrate well with Carrara like zBrush does?

Post edited by Superdog on

Comments

• Kodiak3dKodiak3d Posts: 223
    edited December 1969

Carrara uses vertex modeling, unlike Zbrush. In theory, you could get similar results, but it would take a tremendous amount of time and work to do so. If you're looking for Zbrush style modeling but don't want to front the cash for it, you might check out Sculptris, which is a free program by Pixlogic that has a similar "sculpting" type of modeler, but nowhere near the tools of Zbrush.

• Design AcrobatDesign Acrobat Posts: 459
    edited December 1969

You can download 3DCoat for a 30 Day trial.
    http://3d-coat.com/download/

There is a student version available for 99.00 dollars.

• SuperdogSuperdog Posts: 765
    edited December 1969

Does 3D Coat integrate well with Carrara? I mean could I import Genesis figures and adjust them? Is the student version very limited compared to the full version?

• ManStanManStan Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Actually studio and hexagon were made to work with each other quite nicely to make morphs. Better then in carrara or trying to import from something else to carrara.

• Kodiak3dKodiak3d Posts: 223
    edited December 1969

It's my undertanding that Sculptris works nicely for making morphs as well, though I have not done it myself.

• mmoirmmoir Posts: 821
    edited December 1969

You can try Blender 3d , it has a very nice sculpting toolset and for free you can't beat the price.

• SonofbelmontSonofbelmont Posts: 147
    edited December 1969