My first WIP

LycanthropeXLycanthropeX Posts: 2,287
edited December 2012 in Hexagon Discussion

Ok I am a complete idiot newb in Hex. Everything I have done in Hex so far are really simple props ( ooo look a grail!!!) or just morphs for figures. So as simple as this looks it is the most complex thing I have done so far. I have probably done everything wrong but this is how far i have gotten so far. Kinda stuck right now. I want to cut out holes for the eyes, not really sure how to do that. and I want to sort of bevel the edges. I don't think I will need to UV map it as it can just be colored with material shaders in Poser.

Anyway, that it, my first crappy model, any help is most appreciated.

Hmmm doesn't look too bad in Poser

Post edited by LycanthropeX on

Comments

• atticanneatticanne Posts: 3,009
    edited December 1969

You've gotten a lot further than I have in Hex. I have yet to model anything. I open Hex, panic, and close Hex.

• Wee Dangerous JohnWee Dangerous John Posts: 1,605
    edited December 1969

Nice start LycanthropeX, I see from your picture that you have not given your model any tesselations to strengthen the geometry, this means if you add a level of smoothing the object will not keep its shape.

Have a look at Danny's tutorials -

http://www.cgdreams.co.uk/hexstarted.html

He has made a quick start quide consisting of 26 short videos.

For Hex projects have a look at Gary Millers -

http://www.geekatplay.com/hexagontutorials/index0.php

• LycanthropeXLycanthropeX Posts: 2,287
    edited December 1969

yeah, i hadn't gotten to the tessalization yet, I already figured out a few things i screwed up on this one so I will probably be starting over from scratch.

thanx for the links, i will check them out

• RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
    edited December 1969

That is a good start - nice and neat:)