Glowing Head Problem, with subsurface scattering (interjection) addon, DS and Genesis Figure

lostlegendslostlegends Posts: 2
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hey Guys,

i'm fairly new to DS and try to move over from poser. I successfully converted my V4 character to a Genesis Figure and
now i'm trying to go for the waxy looking realistic skin i was used to from posers latest firefly renderer....

i got this product to get a more realistic look using subsurface scattering in Daz Studio 4.5
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/interjection-surface-injections-for-daz-studio/

the scene is setup with uberenvironment2 at 50% intensity and a 50% spotlight aswell as a directional light behind the model

but all i could come up with is the attached picture, which gives me a massively glowing head.

any help what i'm doing wrong would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited December 1969

Wow...I knew those nuclear powered tanning beds were a bad idea, but no, does anyone listen?

First check the Ambient setting, under Surfaces...it's probably all the way at 100%.

Next, adjust Glossiness and Specular.

Then work on things like SubSurface scaling.

Depending on the original skin texture, the Interjection settings could be 'too much'...

(I will make no comment on the 'look' from most Poser renders....)

• lostlegendslostlegends Posts: 2
    edited December 1969

thanks for ur reply!
    checked ambient, its only 7%,
    but subsurface scale seems to have some effect, though i lose sss on the ears when i up the value
    but better than a glowing mouth ;-)

i guess the poser results cause quite a controversy. imho the "wax" look of the skin isn't real aswell, but it looks much more
    sophisticated than the solid-plastic-output most other solutions produce for years. still up to this day most human renderings look
    just like mannequins... why is it really so hard to get a decent skin shading....

edited December 2012

sangit said: