New to the scripting IDE...

Hi all,

I am new to the DAZ Scripting IDE, just opened it for the first time a couple days ago but I am a software developer by trade so not new to the scripting aspect of it. The coding constructs of DAZScript seem very intuitive and easy enough to pick up. However, I see that documentation of the object methods and members is a bit, um, sparse -

So is there a way to have the IDE turn on auto-fill of an object so when I start typing in object names it gives me a flyout menu of all the possible members/methods to use for that specific object? If I had that working I can figure out the methods by trial and error without a manual. Otherwise this is going to be a really painful exercise in futility.

How do people new to the IDE write scripts here with only part of a manual and part of the classes/objects fleshed out in documentation? Do we just come here for all of our questions to be answered or do we flood support with trouble tickets? Sorry for the frustrated tone, finding definiteive answers has been frustrating...

Comments

• Have you grabbed the DS3 scripting docs? The DS 4 docs are filling out but for most of the basics those are still useful http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/3/start

• pfunkyfizepfunkyfize Posts: 475

Have you grabbed the DS3 scripting docs? The DS 4 docs are filling out but for most of the basics those are still useful http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/3/start

Thanks for that Richard,

I have been using that documentation but some of it is hit or miss depending if the syntax has changed in the latest revision. Until all the documentation gets filled out I seriously hope nothing freakishly tragic happens to the handful of DS4 scripting experts here since they're the only resource.

I trudge on ever forward then...

Thanks!

I take it that there is no object auto-fill functionality when typing in object structures?