smoothing isn't making new polys available

meghanmeghan Posts: 79
edited December 1969 in Hexagon Discussion

At least that's what looks like is happening. First, I'm still pretty new to Hexagon, so hopefully it's something simple that can be reversed.

I've been following a tutorial (the DigitalTailor Classic Bikini Tutorial). The first couple of starts sucked so I used the User's Guide Tutorial to make the "Wild Space Creature" and messed around a little bit. They both use the Box Modeling method. Then I tried the Bikini tutorial again.

1. Removed the left, top, and right sides, no problem.
2. Shaped the remainder to the Genesis mesh. Good to go.
3. Then clicked on the first level of smoothing. <<<---- Problem: It <i>looks like it accomplishes the first level of smoothing except that the extra polygons, edges, vertices, etc are not individually viewable, selectable, or modifiable.

I tried checking the different object model views. None of them revealed anything different.
It's getting really frustrating being stuck on this. Any help would be marvelous!!

Thanks!

Comments

• RedSquareRedSquare Posts: 0
    edited October 2012

Just a guess, but it maybe because you haven't selected the (control) element which is found in the DG tree. Bottom right panel. Once you've highlighted the bottom item, you should be able to work on the mesh. Although, it would be better to introduce the increased tesselations at the beginning rather than by way of collapsing the DG with the lightning bolt.

DG_2.jpg
    1024 x 768 - 348K
    Post edited by RedSquare on
    edited October 2012

DG collapsed thus.

DG_4.jpg
    1024 x 768 - 386K
  • meghanmeghan Posts: 79
    edited December 1969