How can I define a new polygon using only existing points in an object?

I'm new to Hexagon and DAZ 3D so please bear with me.

I've imported an object from another graphics package (TrueSpace) but the object has concave surfaces that were generated using boolean subtraction (yes, I know all about the issues of migrating booleans from one engine to another).  When I imported the TrueSpace object into Bryce the concave surfaces got covered up, so I saved the object as an .OBJ and then loaded it onto Hexagon.  There I was able to delete the bogus polygons that were covering up the concave surface but the surface covering the edge (rim) of the concave section is now missing leaving me with two seperate surfaces that look like two skins, one inside of the other.

I would like to add new faces to the rim using existing points from either side of the two surfaces (recreating the 'rim' in other words) but I can't seem to get Hexagon to do it.  I may be using the wrong function or simply approaching the problem incorrectly.  If anyone can give me pointers on where to start it would be much appreciated (I'm hoping there's a magic button that I press once and presto, my object is fixed).

(I found a way of doing it by coverting the object to an ASCII file in TrueSpace and then editting in the new faces manually using a text editor but that is painfully slow and torturous, worse than a root canal without anesthesia).

Cheers,

Mark

Comments

• RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247

By your description it looks like you may be able to use the bridge or target weld tools - I'd like to see a screen capture of the mesh in Hex, in flat solid and edges mode and including the scene tree to be more certain. 

• mgarstinmgarstin Posts: 5

Hi there Roygee.