Uses / Strengths of DAZ Products

cjreynoldscjreynolds Posts: 155
edited December 1969 in New Users

I realize this is probably the type of post that you see a lot of here, but I couldn't find a really relevant thread by searching...

I'm really a novice at 3D art - I've been using Bryce since version 2, and have done a few nice images over the years, but never devoted an extended amount of time to it.

Now I'm about to dig into these free goodies (Bryce 7, DAZ Studio, Hexagon), but aside from what I read in the product info and tutes, I can't find anything that really addresses the differences between the DAZ products.

From what I can gather, Bryce is good for terrains and atmospheric lighting ("world-building"), Studio is more for character modeling, and Hexagon is for irregular and organic (non-humaniod) shapes. I know there are overlapping capabilities between them, but do I have the basic idea?

If so, I've seen scenes (landscapes, etc.) that were done in Studio. Are they done entirely in studio? Is this because the rendering engine in Studio is better? Is Studio as capable of landscapes as Bryce?

If I were to use Studio, Hexagon, and, say, Carrera, would I even need Bryce?

I hope these questions aren't too common or inane, or posted in the wrong forum - If so, I plead "newbie" and take my lumps :)

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969

I realize this is probably the type of post that you see a lot of here, but I couldn't find a really relevant thread by searching...

I'm really a novice at 3D art - I've been using Bryce since version 2, and have done a few nice images over the years, but never devoted an extended amount of time to it.

Now I'm about to dig into these free goodies (Bryce 7, DAZ Studio, Hexagon), but aside from what I read in the product info and tutes, I can't find anything that really addresses the differences between the DAZ products.