What the ! is this icon? Where did it come from and how do I make it go away?

The BrigThe Brig Posts: 89
edited June 20 in Daz Studio Discussion

This is a relatively new occurrence. I'm used to seeing the infamous and ubiquitous "orphaned reference" triangles everywhere, but this just happened within a couple of weeks. I installed all my content through DIM on Studio 4.24.0.6, Windows 10.

I first noticed a ton of orphaned references in Smart Content. When I right click them and select "Show Asset in Content Library > Products," I can see this one offering me the option to install the product through Studio even though DIM supposedly handled it. I can't install it, though. Left- or right-clicking doesn't trigger the installation. The only options I get are to rename, delete, or pretty much everything else except to install it. Re-importing the metadata re-imports everything, which undoes all my work in chasing down and deleting orphaned references. None of my content database maintenance options make this go away.

So what the hey? I have no access to several products and no obvious way to get around this. Any ideas?

DAZ.png
99 x 145 - 7K
Post edited by The Brig on

Comments

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 111,315

    The icon at top-left means it is user rather than vendor/store data. Delete it and you will remove the metadata for the product, not the files (if you have any) and DS will get the proper store metedata next time you update metadata (through the log-in dialogue or the Connect menu while online).

  • The BrigThe Brig Posts: 89

    Thanks for the reply. Now I'm wondering how any user data was applied to this when I've never added any on my own. I only add data to a product if Studio leaves it out, and to date that particular product has given me no reason to mess with it. I'll have to keep closer track of what I'm doing, it seems.

    With that in mind, I deleted the reference in Content Library and unchecked the box for user input overrides product data. Restarted Studio and it came right back.

    I right clicked the content library tab, deselected everything, then checked the box for only that product and tried updating again. This time, I got a different message, attached below. (This is in reference to another product I've been having the same issues with, but the same message appears regardless.)

    The only way to get all the relevant data back was to uninstall through DIM and reinstall it. However, I had always selected the option to delete the package after installation to save drive space. I have a PNY 4TB SSD as my C drive and I seem to be accumulating a lot of stuff. This time, I reinstalled all the products but kept the packages after installation. Now I can see and access everything.

    Thanks for putting me on the right track.

     

    DAZ2.png
    1920 x 1080 - 233K
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 111,315

    There was a time when vendor data was incorrectly set as user data, I suspect this is/was a relic of that.

Sign In or Register to comment.