Battle Blades metals too dark

Newbie here, who bought Battle Blades at http://www.daz3d.com/battle-blades

The blades look very realistic and like actual steel on the store page, however when I render it, it looks like a dark blue-ish metal (see attachment). I tried playing with the shaders, but nothing seems to help. Does anyone have an idea what I'm doing wrong?

Comments

• Corrected attachment:

sample_dark.jpg
    800 x 610 - 20K
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001

If it is a 3Delight render, make sure you have a full environment...as they are using reflection, you will need something to reflect   Also you need to make sure that the max raytrace bounces is at least 2, better at 4.

• mjc1016 said:

If it is a 3Delight render, make sure you have a full environment...as they are using reflection, you will need something to reflect   Also you need to make sure that the max raytrace bounces is at least 2, better at 4.

Thank you for your reply. I rendered it with a full environment as well, and that didn't change anything. I can't find where to change the max raytraces. Shouldn't that be in 'Shadow Type'?

Even the blood on the swords look black, instead of red.

• jim_d377a9cfjim_d377a9cf Posts: 22
    edited March 2016

I just purchased http://www.daz3d.com/swords-of-history (render in iray) and it has the same issue.

What am I doing wrong?

Why doesn't Daz provide contact details of the creator?

Post edited by jim_d377a9cf on
  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604

Because Customer Support provides the support for products.  It is one of the reasons that Vendors sign up to broker at Daz

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001

For 3Delight the Max Ray Trace Bounces is under Render Settings > Sampling.

For Iray, the equivalent function is by default is very high and shouldn't need to be adjusted.

• ValandarValandar Posts: 1,417