From Marvelous Designer to DAZ anno 2016 – I pay for help

2

Comments

  • byzignsbyzigns Posts: 15

    Hi Denise

    You're so good, but I think something happened to my installation once back i february, cos I only have Surfaces(color). It seems some og my shaders are broken. What could have happened? Should I reinstall Daz 4.9?

    This is a steep learning curve I'm into :-D

  • byzignsbyzigns Posts: 15

    I have this showing. Its broken but it wasn't always.

    noshaders.jpg
    800 x 420 - 70K
  • dvitoladvitola Posts: 129
    edited March 2016

    Some of that has happened to me as well, byzigns. I think the older files don't show the png thumbnails. I have several converted pose files that I made using the Pose Converter Utility and they have all turned into similar windows. It may be a bug in 4.9 or something I'm just not familiar with. Rather than using Smart Content, use your content library and choose from the list there. If you glance down the list, you should see Iray. Your Iray Uber Base will be in this list. It does come with DAZ, so it should show up. If not, I would try redownloading DAZ. Something may have corrupted. I've included a picture of what the shader list looks like. You won't see the same shaders as mine. (I love my shaders) But the basic ones will be there. Denise

    Ember Library Mediator 3.png
    510 x 1286 - 79K
    Post edited by dvitola on
  • barbultbarbult Posts: 12,192

    I have the same triangle exclamation icons for those two items. I think Daz just didn't create PNG icons for them. I don't think the files are broken.

  • dvitoladvitola Posts: 129

    Some of that has happened to me as well byzigns. I think the older files don't show the png thumbnails. I have several converted pose files that I made using the Pose Converter Utility and they have all turned into similar windows. It may be a bug in 4.9 or something I'm just not familiar with. Rather than using Smart Content, use your content library and choose from the list there. If you glance down the list, you should see Iray. Your Iray Uber Base will be in this list. It does come with DAZ, so it should show up. If not, I would try redownloading DAZ. Something may have corrupted. I've included a picture of what the shader list looks like. You won't see the same shaders as mine. (I love my shaders) But the basic ones will be there. Denise

  • dvitoladvitola Posts: 129

    Oops, sorry, I posted twice. Denise

     

  • RalfZRalfZ Posts: 19
    byzigns said:

    And I also cannot use HEXAGON 'cos it doesn't support OS 10.11, so unfortunately, that's not a solution.

    This is not quite right, Hexagon (although it's a rather dated app now) runs perfectly fine in OS 10.11.

  • byzignsbyzigns Posts: 15
    edited March 2016

    Thanx RalfZ I'll try it.

    Denise, I've found the Iray uber (pfew), but as you can see the texture is in the base, but it's not shown at the shirt.

    I'm about to give up (a least for tonight) as you are so helpful with things that just might be very simple.

    Sorry for the inconvinience.

    comufejl.jpg
    1634 x 1030 - 219K
    Post edited by byzigns on
  • dvitoladvitola Posts: 129

    Byzigns, I've sent you a pm. Denise

     

  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,324

    He needs to be zeroed (zero pose) for base simming in MD if you want the shirt to fit him in DS after Transfer Utility.  Or am I reading a pic wrong?  Sorry if so!

  • byzignsbyzigns Posts: 15

    Thanks to all of you for your help.

    SickleYield took me some of the way. 15 $ goes to you

    Dvitola took me aaalll the way. 35 $ goes your way.

    You're gold!

     

     

  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,324

    LOL you don't have to pay me.  I consider this part of my job.

  • byzignsbyzigns Posts: 15

    In that case,thank you so much. Great to have such skilled members and designers in here.

    laugh

  • juzduitjuzduit Posts: 33

    Hi guys, sorry to bump this thread , just wanted to share that im experiencing the same isue.

    My MD Renders are appearing in Daz3D but the textures do not show up :( 

    Anyone care to be of assistance

  • sandman_maxsandman_max Posts: 666

    I'm wanting to try the same thing as byzigns. Just wanted to make sure - the trial version of MD will export an obj? Sometimes trial versions have limited functionality and saving seems to be the most common.

  • hphoenixhphoenix Posts: 1,324
    edited June 2016

    Barring any actual lawyers present, please don't get into analysis of EULAs.

    I'm comfortable with what I said, and well the absense of lawyers to escort you around in your daily life would soon preclude anyone from doing anything at all. Practically speaking you'd need to change the claimed need for lawyers to a need for a correct interpretation of the applicable statutes as written, a judge and a jury. A lawyer is helpful, but not strictly needed.

    A lawyer is, as far as I am aware, the only person permitted to offer elgal advice - that is certainyl howw e are running the forums (other than our answering questions on what the Daz EULA allows).

    Not true.  They are only given license (by whatever Bar Association they are licensed by) to "Practice Law", i.e., to provide legal services as a profession, for pay.  Everyone can (and is) a "Pro se" lawyer, if they choose to represent themselves.

    Few realize that words have very different meanings in legal proceedings and writings.  This is why many interpret laws incorrectly.  A review of Black's Law Dictionary can clarify a lot of the differences, but few choose to learn what's in there.  This is why Attorneys go to Law School.  They get taught about famous cases, learn what words mean in Legal matters, and what the procedures are for various types of litigation.  All of this information is publicly available, if one looks for it.  It's just a lot of time and work to learn it without teachers.

    Anyone can offer legal advice.  That doesn't mean they are correct.  That goes for Lawyers as well.  But, since they do it for a profession, and are licensed by their Bar Association, they can CHARGE for it.  That is their profession, and in most states (I haven NOT checked every states laws on this matter, so there MAY be some where this is not the case) they are permitted to charge for it, list themselves as an 'attorney', and sell their services as a legal professional.  It is a fine line in some cases.  Practicing law (like practicing medicine) without a license is a civil tort, and can carry some stiff penalties in most states.  But anyone can bandage, suture, even give medicines as long as they do not claim to be a doctor or charge money for it. (Naturally, if something goes wrong, they can be held liable, and since they are not licensed, they won't have malpractice insurance.....if they have been doing it for a while, they probably can't use the good samaritan laws as a shield either....)  With the potential for serious repurucssions, most don't try it.  The legal profession, on the other hand, isn't quite as bad when it comes to such repurcussions.

     

    (ETA:  IANAL, but I study law as a potential pro-se litigant.)

     

    Post edited by hphoenix on
  • Beat578Beat578 Posts: 169

    Hy Byzigns

    Back to the 3d at least... So i can also bring in my 5 cents to the topic. I Always use MD with DAZ. And i can say, most important things for me are:

    • Always use STANDARD Figure exported from DAZ as base. (Genesis 2 Female, Genesis 2 Male for example) if you like to make conforming clothes later. All other characters tend to give you extra troubles with fitting the clothes later (as you already found out earlier)
    • Quadrangulate in MD before exporting but after finishing all the draping stuff
    • I use the "thik" option for exporting 
    • I work with lots of different materials in MD. It makes it easier to change the materials later in DAZ and it gives the artist the option to use his own materials without having to paint complicated Maps in Photoshop. 

    In DAZ itself it's "Trial and Error". Hardest thing for me is having the quads responding to the right bones. (I always have quads from pants moving with the wrong leg and painting those weightmaps... well, say I don't like it).

    So Sickleyelds tutorials are worth gold when it comes to rigging cloth in daz. Or Eshas Content Creation mastery. The work in DAZ itself is always the same, no matter if you use Z-Brush, MD, Blender or whatever Software to create your clothing. 

    If you just want one piece of Clothing for one render, you can also export the posed character, fit the clothing in MD (as described above by someone) and render the clothing i exact that position. You don't need to make it fit and rig it then.

    Hope that helps.
    Cheers Beat

     

  • @Beat578    You say you export with thickness but I can't do that if I am selecting "weld". Do you weld the piece of clothing in another software or do not weld it at all ?

    Thank you for your help.

  • Beat578Beat578 Posts: 169

    @Beat578    You say you export with thickness but I can't do that if I am selecting "weld". Do you weld the piece of clothing in another software or do not weld it at all ?

    Thank you for your help.

    I do not weld them at all. Just Selecting all of them and exporting gives you one OBJ file with the different Material Zones. No need to weld so far... And yes, you can only selct Thikness if you don't weld. 

    If you really need welded cloth (one piece with one Texture map mabe) AND Thikness, you need to go over Z-Brush for example, add thikness there and import it over the DAZ Z-Brush bridge.

  • Thank you.

    I did add thickness in ZBrush (with the ZModeler) but I then seem to lose the UVs. Maybe I do something wrong. I am new with ZBrush.

    I'll try the thickness without welding as you seem to have no problem with that. Otherwise I may try the welding in ZBrush.

  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,324

    Thank you.

    I did add thickness in ZBrush (with the ZModeler) but I then seem to lose the UVs. Maybe I do something wrong. I am new with ZBrush.

    I'll try the thickness without welding as you seem to have no problem with that. Otherwise I may try the welding in ZBrush.

    Any operation at all in Zbrush destroys the UV.  Do not use it unless you are prepared to redo it.

  • lord Adamlord Adam Posts: 96

    Hello folks!

    I've got a simple question to dvitola. I see that you work with MARVELOUS DESIGNER for a long time... As you can see on the two first pictures below - someone has already created good (and easy to follow) toturial: From Marvelous Designer to DAZ (good tips for byzigns anyway). The problem that I have now is back in Daz Studio 4.9 - as you can see on the third picture - I can't find enywhere textures for buttuns of  blue shirt for Michael 6 (I just exported all patterns, texturs as OBJ files from MD7), finally I've got only grey buttons, how can I fix this problem? Am I done something wrong during process with exporting in Marvelous or maybe I should look for the answers in Daz Studio (in surfaces tab)? I'll be grateful for any tipswink

    MD5 to Daz krok 01.jpg
    2000 x 1137 - 179K
    MD5 to Daz krok 02.png
    3045 x 1288 - 1M
    M6 after export from MD7.png
    1922 x 1078 - 2M
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 55,231

    Try using Tools>Surface Selection Tool to click on the buttons if it's a selection issue.

  • lord Adamlord Adam Posts: 96

    Thank's Richard Haseltine! I just did as You said and now I can choose all buttons manuallysmiley I'm still learning smomething new about DAZ Studio.

    On the three pictures below you can see how looks all my EXPORTING WAY form MD7 to DAZ...

    My work 2018.jpg
    960 x 720 - 58K
    My work 2018 part 2.jpg
    960 x 720 - 47K
    My work 2018 part 3.jpg
    960 x 720 - 71K
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 55,231

    It may be that the buttons don't get a texture, being just flat colour - which can be defined in the .mtl file.

  • dvitoladvitola Posts: 129

    Adam, it appears that you have selected the shirt color instead of the button color. I see the green in the diffuse color slider. Make sure you are choosing the buttons. (You may have to expand material 16390 to see the button material). You can then add a texture by browsing (click on the square box in the slider) or you can change the diffuse color and the specular color in the rectangular box with the numbers. If you want black buttons, just change the slider numbers to 000 000 000. But make sure you have selected those buttons! Hope this helps a little! Denise

  • valzheimervalzheimer Posts: 359
    edited May 2018
    lord Adam said:

    Hello folks!

    I've got a simple question to dvitola. I see that you work with MARVELOUS DESIGNER for a long time... As you can see on the two first pictures below - someone has already created good (and easy to follow) toturial: From Marvelous Designer to DAZ (good tips for byzigns anyway).

     

    Just to add to those first two screenshots as they refer to the Salsa dress I made somwhere 2-3 years ago, morph target option is useful with poses that don't change too much in the base pose of the model, for more complicated movements you would rather want to export pose from animate2 timeline in MDD format (0 to 30 frames would work) and import as animation into MD for better draping :) I will see to add some more MD tips and tricks as I move forward and have some spare time (haven't done any tuts for a while and lately even due to computer issues it's impossible for me to do screen recordings), I'll put this one on my list to add with some next garment when I'm able. Some options can be caught in this video if you slow it down, it's a showcase video more than a tutorial and only refers to using Daz for rendering only, clothes isn't rigged, it's simmed in MD, hence called "quick & dirty method": 

     

    V.

    Post edited by valzheimer on
  • lord Adamlord Adam Posts: 96

    Thank's for all your tips I will try everything very soon... but still I must deal with buttons.sad

    dvitola you said: ,,...make sure you have selected those buttons" I tried for many options (about hundred times) to select buttons manually, ALL FILES in the scene tab, as OBJ selected, add some colours in PROPERTY EDITOR, as single button in 3D VIEW and the final effect was all the same (as you can see on first and third picture below). Maybe there is a some kind of bug in may version of MD7? If I'm still doing something wrong please give me some pictures with right method to add materials/colours for any kind of buttons. Slowly I'm loosing me nerves...

    My work part 01.jpg
    960 x 720 - 44K
    My work part 02.jpg
    960 x 720 - 54K
    My work part 03.jpg
    960 x 720 - 77K
  • dvitoladvitola Posts: 129

    Hi Adam, You will have to manually change it in Daz on their sliders. I select the object, go to Daz surfaces. The square red box in diffuse is the material I chose (fabric texture). The slider next to it determines how light or dark the color will be. If you press on the square, you get a drop down menu that will allow you to browse for different textures. I have about 20 years of textures I've collected in a file and I choose from them. If you want a particular color only, just use the slider and it will give you whatever color you would like. Hope this helps! Denise (I don't know if MD 7 has a bug on the buttons. I haven't used that feature yet.)

    Screen Shot 2018-05-24 10 39 57 AM.png
    437 x 872 - 176K
Sign In or Register to comment.