Stuck on RSL, should be MDL {was: Lu Hair for G8and8.1F question / FIXED but not sure how :/}

WillowRavenWillowRaven Posts: 3,777
edited May 5 in The Commons

Lu Hair for Genesis 8 and 8.1 Females question ...

I've never used this hair before, so I'm not sure what I'm missing, but the promos and gallery images have a much softer, more realistic look. What am I missing?

One or all of the below fixed the problem.

Post edited by WillowRaven on

Comments

• scorpioscorpio Posts: 8,325

WillowRaven said:

Lu Hair for Genesis 8 and 8.1 Females question ...

... the promos and gallery images have a much softer, more realistic look. What am I missing?

Than what?

• WillowRavenWillowRaven Posts: 3,777

Sorry, I thought I attached it ...

screeshot lu 1 copy.png
    3825 x 1080 - 1M
  • Olo_OrdinaireOlo_Ordinaire Posts: 654
    edited April 29

It may be the shader.  I've attached a quick test render using the Lu Hair medium brown material and also a render using one of Matty Manx's Resource Saver hair shaders.

1st: Lu Hair supplied medium brown material

2nd:  MMX Resource Saver Shader  - I used one of the Scalp and Fibermesh shaders.

Lu Hair - Brown Mat.png
    791 x 1024 - 1M
    Lu Hair - Matty Manx Shader.png
    791 x 1024 - 2M
    Post edited by Olo_Ordinaire on

I'll grab that shader, thanks. I like the tone better than what comes with Lu.

Even so, your render looks much better than mine. What lights and render settings do you use? I tried a few different light sets and the hair looks like it's carved plastic rather than soft hair strands.

screeshot lu 2 copy.png
    5760 x 1080 - 2M
  • PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 9,581

You are using 3DL materials and rendering Iray

edited April 30

I looked at the Lu Hair product and it seemed that it only came with Iray shaders.  Perhaps I missed the 3DL shaders.  That might explain why WillowRaven's render looks the way it does.