How do we make sunrays?

Hi everyone! smiley

Can someone help explain to me how to make sunrays like on those pictures, please? I have tried with spotlights so far but it doesn't work. My scene is a day scene so I need light everywhere but also sunrays. Like on the example pictures. 

Also, I'm not a pro at Daz so if possible to explain it in some simple words it would be very appreciated. I don't understand the technical terms yet. T-T

Thank you in advance!

forest-light.jpg
1600 x 1067 - 262K
2852663843_08e6346d9e_c.jpg
800 x 600 - 263K
123.png
1280 x 720 - 2M

Comments

• pctech4nypctech4ny Posts: 177
    edited March 27

In Daz terminology those would be called "godrays." (Oddly enough, I was just researching those yesterday and this morning, because I was wanting to create a visible "spotlight beam" effect - I'll try to make one tomorrow and see what happens.)

The theory is that light has to bounce off something to be visible, so the usual trick is to create a prop object to stand in for the dust / haze/ atmosphere. So that when the light from the spotlight hits the prop, the light will be visible. The prop has to have a bunch of surface settings changed for this to work.

There are products in the store if you search for "godrays" but it would be best to understand how to use them.

Here's a links to a classic tutorial by Sickleyield, plus a couple more: I found on youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQuaK-ft0I8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHQpHdvZeMg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taK2QYkha_o

Post edited by pctech4ny on
  • Justin_AmesJustin_Ames Posts: 136

Thank you, I'm gonna check this out and try my best!

Please let me know how it went on your try smiley

• FishtalesFishtales Posts: 6,043