Strand based hair

Hello everyone, I'm new to Daz Studio and been trying my hand at tinkering around in the built in strand based hair creator. 

Is there anything besides blender or a very good tutorial on using blender to create hair? I know learing hair is probably a very long process to learn, I'm new to much of 3d charactor creation so hope that you all can bear with me.

It seems that the built in creator is incapable of parted flattened hair or I just can't figure out how to make it work. No matter what tools I use or process I try using, the very top of the character's head always has a whole bunch of hair that can't be combed down or moved at all. I can manage to mat everything down below that but never the very top.

It seems that the built in hair creator will work very well for basic straight upright hair, but for parted combed flat hair it seems that hair creator can't do it.

I'm hoping and confident that blender can do it and understand that blender has a very high learning curve, but I spent about a total of 20 hours trying different ways to make it work in Daz Studio and seemingly not getting anywhere with their hair creator.

Thanks!

Comments

• ElliandraElliandra Posts: 476

I came across this youtube video by PixelicaCG that uses the new blender hair tool it's pretty nice!

• UncannyValetUncannyValet Posts: 142
    edited March 26

johara45 said:

It seems that the built in creator is incapable of parted flattened hair or I just can't figure out how to make it work. No matter what tools I use or process I try using, the very top of the character's head always has a whole bunch of hair that can't be combed down or moved at all. I can manage to mat everything down below that but never the very top.

It seems that the built in hair creator will work very well for basic straight upright hair, but for parted combed flat hair it seems that hair creator can't do it.