how much vrma is needed for a beginner

swierczynski88swierczynski88 Posts: 7
edited March 26 in New Users

Hey, I'm just getting started with Daz3D. Unfortunately, I'm currently using an AMD card, which makes rendering anything other than the genesis models a bit of a nightmare in terms of time. That's why I'm planing purchasing an RTX card for this purpose.

Could anyone tell me how much VRAM is typically used for an average environment? For example, something like the Z 24 Hour Bar or a similar-sized scene.

I'd prefer estimates without or with minimal optimization, as it's easier for me to learn without delving into optimization right away. If possible, please provide an example or a link to the environment in the Daz Store.

I've been checking out forums, and many users suggest that even 8GB of VRAM might not be enough. In my country, the cards are not the cheapest, so currently I can only afford the rtx 4060 16gb or maybe RTX 4070 12GB. I've only found information stating that one Genesis 8.0 model uses about 1.5GB, but finding details about environments is more challenging due to various factors. Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Post edited by swierczynski88 on

Comments

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 9,914
    edited March 26

8GB's is just not enough. One can render something small with lots of optimisation but why bother with 8GB cards when one can get 12GB cards at the same price or even cheaper.

The chepest card with 12GB's of VRAM is RTX 3060 12GB.
    A 12GB card has twice as much VRAM for Iray rendering than an 8GB card, as the base load from Windows, DS, the scene and the necessary working space are taking about 4GB's

This was rendered on RTX 3060 12GB in 5 minutes and 5 seconds

Post edited by PerttiA on
  • LeanaLeana Posts: 11,304
    edited March 26