Where is the sky texture in this promo

OK, so I like the image used in the promo for the "Long Stretch of Deserted Road" product, which I'll link here:

https://www.daz3d.com/1stb-long-stretch-of-deserted-road

So I bought that, loaded it up, saw that the terrain is included but the sky is not. Happily the PA linked the product he used, which (as far as I can tell) is this one:

https://www.daz3d.com/daz-studio-iray-hdr-outdoor-environments

So I have both the terrain and the sky, but where is the sky asset used in the promo?

I am going into the Environment tab, selecting Type: Backdrop, Browse, and then Runtime>Textures>DimensionTheory>IRAY HDRs. There are five files available there but none are the ones used in the promo. I'm guessing I'm doing something incorrectly, this is my first time doing an outdoor scene.

Comments

• SofaCitizenSofaCitizen Posts: 1,617
    edited December 2023

It's "DTHDR-SunsetA-Background" I believe - selected from the "Render Settings" in Smart Content. I've never tried to use an HDRI via the Environment pane so not sure how it would work from there.

Screenshot-2023-12-06-at-23.25.32.jpg
    2048 x 1105 - 252K
    Post edited by SofaCitizen on
  • ChezjuanChezjuan Posts: 505
    edited December 2023

As SofaCitizen says, you can apply it from Render-Settings. Open the DAZ Studio Iray HDR Outdoor Environments. Double click the DTHDR-SunsetA-Background file and it will apply in your scene without changing anything else. 

To manually apply HDRis, you don't use the Environment tab, you use the environment section under the Render Settings tab (confusing, I know). There you click the image in Environment Map then browse to the location of the HDRi. If you use the default DAZ content library, then it is under <drive>\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library\Runtime\Textures\DimensionTheory\IrayHDRs. Once you do that, you need to turn Draw Dome on and potentially adjust other settings until you get the look you want.