How to install DS 4.0 and 4.5 in the same PC

jordi3djordi3d Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hi,

I'm a content developer and would like to know how to install DS 4.0 and 4.5 in the same PC, so I can still use 4.0 for making compatible content and have 4.5 to test it for those who have it.

I want to have different folders for the libraries of 4.0 and 4.5, don't want to mix them.

In my PC I have DS3 and DS4.0 already, and several Poser versions.

Please tell me what steps should I follow in the install process.

Thank you.

Comments

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147
    edited December 1969

jordi3d said:
    Hi,

I'm a content developer and would like to know how to install DS 4.0 and 4.5 in the same PC, so I can still use 4.0 for making compatible content and have 4.5 to test it for those who have it.

I want to have different folders for the libraries of 4.0 and 4.5, don't want to mix them.

In my PC I have DS3 and DS4.0 already, and several Poser versions.

Please tell me what steps should I follow in the install process.

Thank you.

the only way I know of is make new user - I would not do it myself

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 97,110
    edited December 1969

Even dual usrs are said not to work, though they should remove some of the conflicts. Ass far as I know dual boot is the only safe option, which obviosuly requires a second OS (for a while you could try using the Win8 RP, but that will expire soon).

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147
    edited December 1969

Even dual usrs are said not to work, though they should remove some of the conflicts. Ass far as I know dual boot is the only safe option, which obviosuly requires a second OS (for a while you could try using the Win8 RP, but that will expire soon).

does every thing work using Win8 ?

• jordi3djordi3d Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks. Then I think I won't install 4.5 because then I may be unable to make compatible content.

edited December 1969

bigh said: