Getting Photorealistic Results, part 2?

Thanks to everyone that responded last time, and especially those that recommended specific products. I tried a bunch of them and got better results. I think I've gotten better at getting photorealistic results but there's still a piece missing. What I notice in actual photos and some AI images is that they seem to have a richer colour palette/spectrum. So this is what I'd like to ask about this time.smiley

Is this something I can improve with the right HDRI set? Is it an Environment or Tone Map setting? Is there something I can do in Photoshop? I tried increasing the colour saturation in PS but that didn't achieve the right result. If you have any ideas about what might help I'd love to hear them. Please be as specific as possible as I'm not very good at turning abstract ideas into Google searches. Thanks!

Comments

• PrefoXPrefoX Posts: 237

color management is, after lighting, the most important. DAZ has no Color Management, so you have to do it in Photoshop or somewhere else.

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,550

Actually you can alter some of the color options inside DS. Just look at the tonemapper tab and options

tonemapper.jpg
    522 x 837 - 203K
    edited February 2023

yes but thats not color management because you cannot change the tonemapper to aces or filmic. you can clamp the brightness for example and keep all details, where DAZ is just overbrightening and everything is too bright

Just an example but you can see how huge the difference is.

iray is supporting open color io since the last update, maybe DAZ can implement it. All big renderer use color management.

Post edited by PrefoX on
  • SevrinSevrin Posts: 6,301

If you want more colour depth, it's probably best to render to 32-bit canvases.  From there, you have all the colour manipulation options (LUTs, tone mapping) as you would with a RAW photo file (Lightroom, etc), as well as standard photo editing tools.