A question about content management

BryonSpellerBryonSpeller Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hey guys,

I have been using Daz for a few years now. During that time I have acquired a large library of models. First I tried to make my own folder structure to install the content into, then with the later releases I tried to consolidate the content into the default folders. As you can imagine the result was a very messy content library.

My question is, how would you suggest to consolidate the content?
I understand there are a geometry folder and a texture folder, will it be fine if I just move the folders around as I seem fit?

Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks all.

Comments

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969

The Geometries and Textures folders should be left alone -- they are invisible in the interface, and the content files that use them won't be able to find them if you move them around.

• BryonSpellerBryonSpeller Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks for the reply. So how do I rearrange the content that is visible in the viewer?
    Does it use a file to store the info or is there a way to remap it?

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969

The easiest way IMHO is to use Categories -- I create my own categories (outside the Default categories, as my organization is different), and categorize my content that way. I used to rearrange the actual files and folders on disk, but using categories is both more versatile (you can categorize the same file in multiple places, and if you change your mind you can rearrange things any time you like), and safer (since the actual files on disk stay in the same place, you can't accidentally break anything).