Using other light sources in IRAY

Comments

• macleanmaclean Posts: 2,438
    edited July 2015

I never have been very good with lighting and IRAY is no exception.  For now, all I want to do is turn OFF shadows since I'm not doing scenes--just figures.  How do you turn off shadows in IRAY?

That's exactly the problem many photographers have struggled with for years in real life. I used to be a fashion photographer, and shadowless lighting was one of the holy grails of photography. (Not always, but in many cases).

As someone else posted, your best bet is to create a diffused light setup with as little shadow as possible and save it as a light set.

Post edited by maclean on
  • jpb06tjpb06t Posts: 272
    AndyGrimm said:

if there is enough interest  i will continue my basic scene example

"IF" ? are you joking? this is one of the most interesting threads I have ever seen in this forum yes

• fastbike1fastbike1 Posts: 4,074

After a fair bit of recent reading on Iray I recognized that the crazy lumen values recommended in early tutorials didn't make sense given the intent of the Iray engine.

To follow on Andy's discussion, here's a sample with more realistic lighting values. Scene only lighting. 2 1 square meter mesh, each 1200 watts. These are not out of the range of studio lights.

Roughly 1.5 meters from model. Tone mapping F4, 800 ISO 1/125 shutter (realistic camera settings). No post work, 326 iterations NVidia GTX780 

IRay real light value test.png
    500 x 750 - 627K
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited July 2015

I couldn't find the old Luxrender image...so I ran this one overnight.

It doesn't have the IES profile I wanted to use, so I ended up trying a different one...added bloom and the 'rays' through Lux....if I can convince my son to let me borrow his computer, with it's nice shiny 4 GB 970,  I'll repeat the scen in Iray.

candle.png
    400 x 500 - 60K
    Post edited by mjc1016 on
    mjc1016 said:
    AndyGrimm said:

@astahri_92d2b1fd44