Posing Parts or Posing with an object?

StevieDStevieD Posts: 103
edited December 1969 in New Users

I'm totally new to DAZ studio. In fact this is my first post. There will probably be more.

I understand many of the theories but I have no clue where anything is in DS. Which by the way, I think looks totally fabulous. I haven't done any animation in 15-20 years. I started out with a big project to do and I am trying to learn as I go. I know, it's stupid but I have to do it this way.

My current problem that I thought I figured out but doesn't seem to work is this. I'm trying to save a set of different hand poses. I used the "Save Pose Preset" and clicked off things that I didn't think that I needed. I clicked off most everything except the hands.

I saved them in a folder which already contains hand poses. "Handy For Genesis" (which by the way has separate Right and Left Hand Poses (how do they do that?)) - They do show up with an icon but when I try to load the pose I saved, nothing happens. I can still load the "Handy" poses, though. In a tutorial I saw somewhere, they said to turn off the translate switches. So they don't make the poses translate to where they were made.. Is this true? Is this enough info to tell what I'm doing wrong?

Even though, I would like to get this to work as I expected and if I could get this to work, great for future, BUT ACTUALLY for the situation I am right now working on,,, I would rather do this... The pose presets I am working on are different ways of holding and playing a drum stick for a drummer character I am working on...

Can I save the hand pose with the drumstick in the hand together and call it up like a pose with the drumstick in the hand (maybe even make it change position with the pose)??? Make it a child to the hand but would this work as a "POSE"? I 'm thinking this might not be exactly possible but I thought I'd ask.

Also as an aside, can I/How can I change the rotation point of the drum stick?

Thank You