Using the DS4 Timeline to craft a "photoshoot"

spacecat56spacecat56 Posts: 54
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I'm still pretty new to 3d art and Daz Studio etc. but I have decades of professional software development experience and tend to "play" pretty hard when getting into something new.

One thing I've tried to do starting early on, is to use the timeline to organize a "photoshoot", a series of still images. DS seems to somewhat invite this, e.g. in the built-in "series of still images" options in the render settings tab. I sometimes found the animation on the timeline useful for this, as the interpolation of poses and camera positions can "find" views that look good to me that I did not specifically create. But I also often found I wanted to have a series of images with figure(s) in precise and stable poses in themselves and in relation to props and other figures. But the timeline, in my attempts, did not seem to be well suited to this usage.

It slowly became clear to me that that is mostly "by design" in that the timeline is intended for animation and not for a series of static poses. For example, suppose in frame 5 you have a figure precisely posed and it happens that the Abdomen has a twist of 0. Then later in frame 12 you for the first time apply a non-zero twist to it. If you go back and look at frame 5 after doing that, the pose has changed because a non-zero twist has been interpolated back onto the Abdomen. And that can move the arms, and if the hand on one of those arms was supposed to be on another figure's shoulder, well it isn't anymore. OK (actually ouch!) after some study it seems I must accept that DS is working the way it was meant to, but that's still a 'problem' for me in this kind of project.