Help loading V4 Mannequin - complete noob alert!

vfxpicnicvfxpicnic Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hello,

Please excuse the simplicity of my problem! I'm new to Daz3D but not to 3D software. I'm really struggling to get set up with V4 Mannequin, but I'm ready to learn! I want to be able to load and pose this figure like I can with the other figures I have, but this one seems to work in a completely different way.

Perhaps one of you kind folk would care to give me a really basic, step by step guide to working with this figure? Starting from: "Open Daz3D..."

p.s. I have already tried something I read on anther post, talking about injection morphs (whatever they are) but when I change the parameter to remove the arm, I'm left with a weird spike randomly sticking out of the shoulder. It looks nothing like the images on the store page..

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969

You should have some caps to add to the arm to fill in the hole left by removing the arm. In poser they are under props, I guess they will probably be the same in DS

• vfxpicnicvfxpicnic Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks chohole! I found the caps you mentioned. However, there is a major problem.

Here's what I did:

- Open Daz
    - Load Victoria 4.2 from the Content Library
    - In the popup, I check Base Morphs and Legacy Injection Slots (not that I know what they are)
    - In the Content Library, I go to Poser Formats > Daz 3D > Pose > V4 Mannequin and double click "Mannequin INJ"
    - Then in Parameters, I set NoHead to 1, and NoLeftArm to 1.
    - To get the caps, I go up a level and browse to Props > V4 Mannequin and double click the HeadLock and Left ArmLock.
    - Perfect!

Except... As soon as I load a Pose for V4, everything goes horrible! See attached screenshot.

Any ideas? Have I missed something?

Many thanks

Screen_Shot_2014-02-19.jpg
    753 x 628 - 62K
  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969