Can I opt out of DAZ Connect and just have the same items through DIM?

2»

Comments

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 42,394

    ...what I find odd is that I have to check the "Daz Connect" filter in the DIM or some content remains hidden.  When I was doing the massive reinstall of my content library after i got a replacement HDD for the one that crashed I wondered where some of my more recent content was.  Turns out it appeared only after I enabled the Daz Connect filter even though I've never ever used Connect because it sends content to the Documents folder (which I don't use for anything at all) on the wrong drive.

  • LeanaLeana Posts: 13,499
    kyoto kid said:

    Turns out it appeared only after I enabled the Daz Connect filter

    IIRC unchecking filter removes content available via Connect in DIM list, so that you can install the rest via DIM. So if you only use DIM you need to check it in order to see all items.

    kyoto kid said:

    I've never ever used Connect because it sends content to the Documents folder (which I don't use for anything at all) on the wrong drive.

    You know you can change the Connect directory, right?

  • RKane_1RKane_1 Posts: 3,039

    Found pout how to move it and I am a much happier camper now. :)

     

  • nonesuch00nonesuch00 Posts: 18,874
    Havos said:
    Havos said:

    When you have installed stuff, that should make the files go away, if it does not, then you need to delete the file manually. However it may have left stuff in the smart content database, that may give you the impression that it is still installed. To overcome this, reset the Database, and then re-import to get a clean view in the database.

    Thanks. I do have the content in my DAZ Connect directory that actually is no longer installed. It is still on my HD from about 3 years ago where sometimes after a DIM install my Install tab (not the Smart Content tab) would still show the product as a b&w icon so I would install via DAZ Connect the same product again because the grey icon bugged me. Probably free a few gigabytes of space.

    So I will exit DIM & DAZ Studio, delete my entire DAZ Connect directory's content, restart DAZ Studio and re-import my metadata in the Content Library tab as you say in another thread.

    Well don't sue me if it doesn't work! You might want to simply rename your DAZ Connect directory first, so it is not seen, before deleting if everything goes as planned.

    Also remember to reset the database first, to get rid of any unwanted entries from CMS. If you have user defined categories, or used things like Riversofts scripts that add smart content entries, then you should export your User Data before doing the reset.

    Well, this is a DAZ Connect directory from 3 years ago. The new location I've set to the same location as my top level Content Library and so I'm not going to delete that.  I think making them the same has mostly creating overlap between DIM & DAZ Connect for the data directory. I probably have redunction installs of products from 2 1/2 years ago when I changed that location & let DAZ Connect download overnight.

    Deleting that old location did free up 3GB space & fix my broken Carrara Hair Cap product icon.

    So for my particular installation I have no problem having done that.

    One day, I may delete everything via DIM queue, move the old content that's left to a new location, and then reinstall everything again via DIM queue. That would get rid of DAZ Connect installed content for sure. 

    You should also be able to uninstall all DAZ Connect content from within DAZ Studio in a queue process but I can't find out how to do it. I seem to remember RMB & Deinstall being available but it isn't anymore (4.12.0.67). Maybe when I reimported the Metadata today it broken that functionality (it labeled everything as new too).

    Connect uses /Data/cloud/1_sku/ for products, so there will be no overlap with DIM installs - which are ignored if there is a Connect install.

    OK, so then I have about 40GB of product installed via DAZ Connect. How can I properly delete it?

    Exit DAZ Studio, Move or Delete the cloud directory, restart DAZ Studio, and re-import the metadata from DAZ Studio Content Library tab?

  • almahiedraalmahiedra Posts: 1,374
    RKane_1 said:

    How easy is it to transfer iems installed via DAZ Connect into standard Content Library? Can someone give me a walk through?

     

    I made the mistake of using connect once, and then when I moved computers, I couldn't transfer the items across. As far as I remember you have to do it one item at a time. It's a really cumbersome process and will keep the items in the connect library. Best just to delete it all and redownload it through DIM. 

    Exactly.

    I erase all in connect folder and download the dim stuff. Connect making useless updates was a boring task, all my groups labels were constantly erased. I have a pretty basic code to make (and remake) my own metadata and I want organize the user folders (I know there are a "file mirror system" for this, but mantaining track for this is too much boring), under connect this is not nicely possible.

  • Havos said:
    Havos said:

    When you have installed stuff, that should make the files go away, if it does not, then you need to delete the file manually. However it may have left stuff in the smart content database, that may give you the impression that it is still installed. To overcome this, reset the Database, and then re-import to get a clean view in the database.

    Thanks. I do have the content in my DAZ Connect directory that actually is no longer installed. It is still on my HD from about 3 years ago where sometimes after a DIM install my Install tab (not the Smart Content tab) would still show the product as a b&w icon so I would install via DAZ Connect the same product again because the grey icon bugged me. Probably free a few gigabytes of space.

    So I will exit DIM & DAZ Studio, delete my entire DAZ Connect directory's content, restart DAZ Studio and re-import my metadata in the Content Library tab as you say in another thread.

    Well don't sue me if it doesn't work! You might want to simply rename your DAZ Connect directory first, so it is not seen, before deleting if everything goes as planned.

    Also remember to reset the database first, to get rid of any unwanted entries from CMS. If you have user defined categories, or used things like Riversofts scripts that add smart content entries, then you should export your User Data before doing the reset.

    Well, this is a DAZ Connect directory from 3 years ago. The new location I've set to the same location as my top level Content Library and so I'm not going to delete that.  I think making them the same has mostly creating overlap between DIM & DAZ Connect for the data directory. I probably have redunction installs of products from 2 1/2 years ago when I changed that location & let DAZ Connect download overnight.

    Deleting that old location did free up 3GB space & fix my broken Carrara Hair Cap product icon.

    So for my particular installation I have no problem having done that.

    One day, I may delete everything via DIM queue, move the old content that's left to a new location, and then reinstall everything again via DIM queue. That would get rid of DAZ Connect installed content for sure. 

    You should also be able to uninstall all DAZ Connect content from within DAZ Studio in a queue process but I can't find out how to do it. I seem to remember RMB & Deinstall being available but it isn't anymore (4.12.0.67). Maybe when I reimported the Metadata today it broken that functionality (it labeled everything as new too).

    Connect uses /Data/cloud/1_sku/ for products, so there will be no overlap with DIM installs - which are ignored if there is a Connect install.

    OK, so then I have about 40GB of product installed via DAZ Connect. How can I properly delete it?

    Exit DAZ Studio, Move or Delete the cloud directory, restart DAZ Studio, and re-import the metadata from DAZ Studio Content Library tab?

    That would, unless you reset the database, leave the Connect isntalls listed and Ds would try to use them. Just find the products in DS (in Smart Content or the product Library), right-click>Uninstall.

Sign In or Register to comment.