Data/ auto adapted folder.... can I delete files?

lexbairdlexbaird Posts: 146
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Okay, so when you auto adapt some item to Genesis, it creates a file here. Got that. Is there any issue with deleting old stuff from old scenes from this folder? It seems to be full of files that are just taking up HD space.

Thanks!

Comments

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 6,087
    edited December 1969

    Those files aren't just "taking up HD space", that is the item you've converted. If you delete those files, you'll have to do the conversion all over again if you want to load the scene again, or use that converted item in another scene. Hope you remember exactly what you did the first time round.

    Health, safety and sanity tip — never, never, never, seven times never delete, move, or direct a funny look at any file in the /data/ folder. These files are vital to using your content.

  • lexbairdlexbaird Posts: 146
    edited December 1969

    Thanks... that's why I asked first!

    But, assuming I no longer want those scenes or care about the converted item, I can delete them? It won't delete anything vital to the original installed item?

    Basically, they seem to relate to a bunch of junk that was created when I was first fooling around and learning the program.

  • ruekakaruekaka Posts: 330
    edited December 1969

    What I did was creating a ZIP file of the folder before deleting it. Store the ZIP file(s) in a different folder. If you find out that you need it you can always restore the folder.

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 6,087
    edited December 1969

    lexbaird said:
    But, assuming I no longer want those scenes or care about the converted item, I can delete them?

    In that case, it should be OK — although as suggested it would be a good idea to move the files somewhere completely out of your content location first instead of deleting, just in case it turns out you need the files after all.

    Just remember, it's a bad habit to get into; the main reason is that there's no way of knowing (until Something Nasty™ happens) whether those /data/ files are needed for some other scene. That's the reason for having the /data/ folder in the first place, those files are stored once, but they could be referred to by a large number of your saved scenes. And of course, most of those /data/ files make up the content you've bought from DAZ, so messing with them will disable that content until you reinstall it.

Sign In or Register to comment.