Upgrade Advice

I have a limited upgrade budget but am planning on upgrading over the next 3 months.  What I'm after is advice on what to prioritize.  These items are at the upper end of my budget but manageable.

What I got now is a Ryzen 3 with 16gb Ram and Windows 10 and a GTX 1060ti with 4gb

What I'm planning to buy is:

Ryzen 5 2600X (6 Cores @ 3.6Ghz)

Upgrade to 32gb RAM

GTX 1660 ti (this is the most expensive I can afford right now so please don't recommend an GTX 2080ti or similar, 'cos I can't afford it and I'll cry).

Ultimately the plan is to get all of this, but any recommendations on what I should get first?  I suspect the 1660 might drop a lot of my scenes onto the CPU anyway so I'm leaning towards the CPU/RAM first, but to be honest I am a total IRAY noob, so I don't really have a scooby.

Comments

• If this is for Iray then I'm not sure the CPU upgrade is worthwhile - if you scrap that can you get a GPU with more on-board memory? Do you actually need the system RAM increase, 16GB isn't an enormous amount but it isn't ridiculously little either. Really, no-one will be able to give you solid advice without a better idea of where you are currently hitting limitations, and what sort of scenes you are rendering, and what other software (if any) you are using.

• Amy_BoneAmy_Bone Posts: 45

If this is for Iray then I'm not sure the CPU upgrade is worthwhile - if you scrap that can you get a GPU with more on-board memory? Do you actually need the system RAM increase, 16GB isn't an enormous amount but it isn't ridiculously little either. Really, no-one will be able to give you solid advice without a better idea of where you are currently hitting limitations, and what sort of scenes you are rendering, and what other software (if any) you are using.