RTX 2080 vs GTX 1080ti

Hello everyone i am building a setup for daz studio rendering for that i am unable to decide between 2080 & 1080ti.

have been looking around but was not able to find the answer as i am new to daz and do not know much please help me decide which gpu should i get.

Comments

• LenioTGLenioTG Posts: 2,118

Hi, welcome here! :D

You could take a look at this thread: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/53771/iray-starter-scene-post-your-benchmarks#latest

There people post the result of the benchmarks of their PCs.

It's hard to decide between the two, because this RTX technology is not still implemented in Daz Studio, so we don't really know how big this performance gain will be! ^^

• ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255
    Have you looked at prices? A 2080 is $700 and a 1080ti is $1,200. I wouldn't even consider a 1080ti, especially since I bought a new one for around $750 last year or so. I'd probably go with the highest 20xx I could afford.
  • JamesJABJamesJAB Posts: 1,760

Depending on the size of the scenes that you render, you may want to get the GTX 1080ti as it has 11GB of VRAM vs the RTX 2080 with 8GB

Also if you are looking at purchasing the 1080 ti new, they are out of production.  Any "new" ones you find are old remaining stock and are being sold at inflated prices.
    Presonaly with a $1200 budget, I would look into getting a used Quadro P5000 with 16GB of VRAM (it will render a little slower than the GTX 1080 ti and ther RTX 2080, but that 16GB of VRAM will win when rendering scenes that do not fit into the 8GB 2080 or 11GB 1080ti VRAM)

edited April 2019

An RTX-2080ti costs the same as a 1080ti and has the same 11GB of VRAM. I can't imagine anyone buying a 1080ti, especially if the RTX cards live up to their hype in the future. 

Also, I don't believe the Quadro P5000 has the Turing/RTX architecture, so I'd imagine that there's good reason to shy away from that card.