Quality of viewport display (grainy, overlapping hair textures), any fix?

enbismainenbismain Posts: 18
edited March 2019 in New Users

Hello! Ok, I'm a total noob to DAZ, just downloaded it recently. Only slightly less of a newbie to 3D editing as a whole. But I can't figure out if this is supposed to look this way in DAZ or am I doing something wrong?

In viewport it looks like utter nonsense to me. Even the demo scenes like this:

The hair is actually displayed *behind* the head and even objects.

Meanwhile it seems to render images just fine (even if it takes forever for a single screenshot, almost like other apps take to render video out of a scene - but perhaps I just haven't found the toggle to lower quality yet).

Especially some downloadable hair look like nightmare, while in other apps they seem to be fine, as well as in render.

If zoomed in close enough, those messy dots are actually hair strings. All textures are too grainy and skin is nowhere near the quality it is in the source (this is genesis 8 default toon).

Am I missing some settings? But wherever I poke at, doesn't seem to make it any better - only worse. My PC is new (literally just got it few weeks ago, hence getting my hands on new software) and should be powerful enough at least for a bit better quality. AMD Ryzen 5 2600X, 6 core, 3.6GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Win10. Nvidia drivers are up to date and installed in full package.

Thanks for any advice!

Post edited by Chohole on

Comments