NVIDIA 1080 not utilized at all?

Hello,

I can't seem to Daz3D to utilize my NVIDIA 1080 at all when rendering with Iray.

I've enabled the GPU and disabled the CPU in the advanced rendering tab, I've also tried enabling both, but neither option utilizes the GPU at all. This is the render log:

Rendering in NVIDIA Iray
Compiling Shaders - 0/1
Rendering image
Rendering...
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.2   IRAY   rend progr: CUDA device 0 (GeForce GTX 1080): Processing scene...
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : Geometry memory consumption: 112.144 MiB (device 0), 0 B (host)
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : Texture memory consumption: 4.14651 GiB (device 0)
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : Lights memory consumption: 353.035 KiB (device 0)
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : Material measurement memory consumption: 0 B (GPU)
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : PTX code (8.16 KiB) for sm61 generated in 0.123s
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : Materials memory consumption: 189.289 KiB (GPU)
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.2   IRAY   rend progr: CPU: Processing scene...
Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.3   IRAY   rend stat : Native CPU code generated in 0.0273s
Iray Iteration: 1
Iray :Render target canvas was written.
....

Task manager shows CPU at 100%, GPU not utilized however it seems that the scene was loaded into GPU memory.

GPU-Z confirms that the GPU isn't under any load other than that the memory is used.

Daz3D seems to show the GPU is properly identified etc

I'm running latest Nvidia drivers as well as the latest Daz3D version as of this post.

What gives?

Comments

  • The latest nVidia driver is known to be problematic - try rolling back to a slightly older one while they work on the version.

  • codilxcodilx Posts: 5

    The latest nVidia driver is known to be problematic - try rolling back to a slightly older one while they work on the version.

    What version would be recommended?

  • As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

  • codilxcodilx Posts: 5

    As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

    Thanks. What worked was rolling back to 417.01 https://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/140341

    Which is great for Daz3D Studio, but very bad for other stuff I'm running.. Ooof.. Installing and reinstalling drivers as I switch programs is going to be fun ..

  • DrGonzo62DrGonzo62 Posts: 135

    As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

    Could we please have a pinned thread regarding DS and new nVidia driver releases, were users can warn others about flacky new drivers?

    I had updated to that new driver myself when it came out and was relieved that rolling back had fixed the problem.
    Question is now - when is it save to update the driver?

  • codilxcodilx Posts: 5
    DrGonzo62 said:

    As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

    Could we please have a pinned thread regarding DS and new nVidia driver releases, were users can warn others about flacky new drivers?

    I had updated to that new driver myself when it came out and was relieved that rolling back had fixed the problem.
    Question is now - when is it save to update the driver?

    Would be helpful, but I'm wondering if Daz3D or Nvidia are to blame for this.. Tried latest drivers released today (418.91) and GPU rendering is still not working with the latest Daz3D 4.10 or the 4.11 beta.

    So as it stands all drivers that have G-Sync compatibility for FreeSync monitors are not working with Daz3D. So now I have a choice of either Daz3D or G-Sync and reinstalling drivers back and forth .. This is so dumb

  • bdsingerbdsinger Posts: 36
    edited February 14
    codilx said:

    As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

    Thanks. What worked was rolling back to 417.01 https://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/140341

    The most recent one that works for me is the one released January 15, 2019:  417.71 (pardon the en-us-centric url) https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/141906/en-us

    Had just updated to 418.91 this morning when I encountered the problem (illegal CUDA instruction in the logs, no iRay , falls back to CPU.) 

    I tried 418.81 (Feb 4): nope. guess I had skipped that one. It did render a cube primitive fine, but I loaded a figure and it failed.

    Tried 417.71 (Jan 15):  Works!

     

    It is a known issue, Nvidia calls the problem "[Iray][OptiX]: Iray GPU acceleration crashes and falls back to CPU acceleration. [2503738]"

    So, since Feb 4th, 2019 iRay is broken (for more than rendering simple primitives, didn't explore further.) Hopefully fixed next release?

    Post edited by bdsinger on
  • codilx said:
    DrGonzo62 said:

    As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

    Could we please have a pinned thread regarding DS and new nVidia driver releases, were users can warn others about flacky new drivers?

    I had updated to that new driver myself when it came out and was relieved that rolling back had fixed the problem.
    Question is now - when is it save to update the driver?

    Would be helpful, but I'm wondering if Daz3D or Nvidia are to blame for this.. Tried latest drivers released today (418.91) and GPU rendering is still not working with the latest Daz3D 4.10 or the 4.11 beta.

    nVidia, as bdsinger says it's noted on their site and affects all implementations of Iray.

    codilx said:

    So as it stands all drivers that have G-Sync compatibility for FreeSync monitors are not working with Daz3D. So now I have a choice of either Daz3D or G-Sync and reinstalling drivers back and forth .. This is so dumb

     

  • DrGonzo62DrGonzo62 Posts: 135

    FYI,
    The latest 419.35 Nvidia driver works OK btw.

  • cm152335cm152335 Posts: 303
    edited March 22

    in my case, on task manager, right side window of GPU, in "copy" nothing show 
    while i render in Iray, I use "compute_0" to see result, it report 93% to 99% use

    previous port pic,,

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/uploads/FileUpload/22/f0ed2d2b72cb2748eca0c713e55876.jpg

    note:
    also the GPU memory not show correctly in task manager resources when your scene use more than 1.8 GB video memory 

    Post edited by cm152335 on
  • LlynaraLlynara Posts: 4,710
    bdsinger said:
    codilx said:

    As far as I know any older version works, it's just the most recent that has issues with Iray.

    Thanks. What worked was rolling back to 417.01 https://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/140341

    The most recent one that works for me is the one released January 15, 2019:  417.71 (pardon the en-us-centric url) https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/141906/en-us

    Had just updated to 418.91 this morning when I encountered the problem (illegal CUDA instruction in the logs, no iRay , falls back to CPU.) 

    I tried 418.81 (Feb 4): nope. guess I had skipped that one. It did render a cube primitive fine, but I loaded a figure and it failed.

    Tried 417.71 (Jan 15):  Works!

     

    It is a known issue, Nvidia calls the problem "[Iray][OptiX]: Iray GPU acceleration crashes and falls back to CPU acceleration. [2503738]"

    So, since Feb 4th, 2019 iRay is broken (for more than rendering simple primitives, didn't explore further.) Hopefully fixed next release?

    Ditto. I had to roll back to 417.71 twice now. None of the new updates have worked, and rolling back caused havoc with other things (Poser Superfly hasn't been too happy since then.) Can't wait till Nvidia actually gets this fixed. 

  • DrGonzo62DrGonzo62 Posts: 135
    edited March 23
    cm152335 said:

    in my case, on task manager, right side window of GPU, in "copy" nothing show 
    while i render in Iray, I use "compute_0" to see result, it report 93% to 99% use

    previous port pic,,

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/uploads/FileUpload/22/f0ed2d2b72cb2748eca0c713e55876.jpg

    note:
    also the GPU memory not show correctly in task manager resources when your scene use more than 1.8 GB video memory 

    I'm not sure what that means, but for me I no longer fall back to CPU renders.
    I'll roll back the driver and compare renders times to see if that makes a difference.

    -- UPDATE:
    I rolled back to 417.71, re-rendered the scene and had almost the exact same rendering times; 36.5 vs 36 minutes. No CPU, both 1080 & 1060 GPU's as well as OptiX enabled.

    I'm upgrading back to 419.35.
    For what it's worth.

    Post edited by DrGonzo62 on
  • altotrealtotre Posts: 4
    codilx said:

    Hello,

    I can't seem to Daz3D to utilize my NVIDIA 1080 at all when rendering with Iray.

    I've enabled the GPU and disabled the CPU in the advanced rendering tab, I've also tried enabling both, but neither option utilizes the GPU at all. This is the render log:

    BRO , im specialist of 1080 . Try the new NVIDIA CREATOR drivers  

  • saphirxsaphirx Posts: 1
    edited March 23

    The issue was fixed with the 419.17 driver. See page 16. Later releases should work fine.

    "[Iray][OptiX]: Iray GPU acceleration crashes and falls back to CPU acceleration. [2503738]"

     

     

    Post edited by saphirx on
  • AlmightyQUESTAlmightyQUEST Posts: 943
    edited March 28

    Are you sure it was fixed? I think I might be having this issue, Studio seems to have forgotten that my card even exists, but the driver is on 419.67 .

    *Yeah, resolved my issue by rolling back again. Something between Studio and 419.67 is not working for me. Shame that their new creator driver path is starting on one that doesn't seem to be working with Studio...

    Post edited by AlmightyQUEST on
  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 6,233

    A few people have reported that the latest 419 version driver doesn't fix the problem for them; the only fix for the moment seems to be rolling back to a pre-418 version.

  • cm152335cm152335 Posts: 303

    A few people have reported that the latest 419 version driver doesn't fix the problem for them; the only fix for the moment seems to be rolling back to a pre-418 version.

    it need to install full version drivers instead of upgrade!

    - rolling back not work, some of main drivers files can't removed or changed

    the solution is to full uninstall video drivers via Windows ""safe mode"" and install manualy new full version. 

  • DrGonzo62DrGonzo62 Posts: 135
    altotre said:
    codilx said:

    Hello,

    I can't seem to Daz3D to utilize my NVIDIA 1080 at all when rendering with Iray.

    I've enabled the GPU and disabled the CPU in the advanced rendering tab, I've also tried enabling both, but neither option utilizes the GPU at all. This is the render log:

    BRO , im specialist of 1080 . Try the new NVIDIA CREATOR drivers  

    I second that.

    The regular 419.67 driver was still giving me falling back to CPU problems. But I installed the current Creator driver instead, and haven't had any problems with it so far.
    Thanks for that tip altotre!

Sign In or Register to comment.