Is running two instances of Daz a good idea?

Hey there, despite having used it for six months, I still think I'm a newbie to Daz.

My question is about running two instances of Daz, which I only recently found out I could do.

I like having something render, and while I wait I open Daz again on work on something else. I have not and don't plan to render two things at once, or do complicated Iray previews while rendering something else.

The reason I ask is a matter of prevention. I feel like it's too good to be true and I'm going to blow up my PC increasing my productivity so much. I have a pretty strong PC if it matters.

Advice/experience? Thank you!

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,859
    edited December 2018

There are potential issues - for example, they share the same Temp folder so one may clear that while the other still wants files that were stored there. You can run the beta and the release build at the same time.

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on
  • PetercatPetercat Posts: 2,315

Hey there, despite having used it for six months, I still think I'm a newbie to Daz.

My question is about running two instances of Daz, which I only recently found out I could do.

I like having something render, and while I wait I open Daz again on work on something else. I have not and don't plan to render two things at once, or do complicated Iray previews while rendering something else.

The reason I ask is a matter of prevention. I feel like it's too good to be true and I'm going to blow up my PC increasing my productivity so much. I have a pretty strong PC if it matters.

I've been doing it for a long time and have never had a problem. (I create the next comic scene while the previous scene renders.)

• There are potential issues - for example, they share the same Temp folder so one may clear that while the other still wants files that were stored there. You can run the beta and the release build at the same time.