Why No Love For 3Delight?

I've been using Daz for a few months now and I love it. My question is: Does everybody using it have a render farm at home? Everything in the Daz store seems to be for iRay. Some of it works well with 3Delight, most of it produces weird results. I have a decent computer with a single Nvidia 1070, and it takes about an hour to render a single frame on iRay with a moderately complex scene. So for me, rendering an animation is out of the question. I am absolutely willing to sacrifice a little bit of quality for a LOT of time saved on rendering. Since Daz seems to be geared more towards the hobbyist, I wonder why most of its users would be willing to wait 24 hours to produce a Hollywood grade 3 minute video. Why not more love for 3Delight? I do mostly tutorial videos where illustrating something in a way that it is well understood is more important than having perfect reflections and shadows. I understand that someone doing more creative work might want the extra quality, but I'm still puzzled why users of an app geared towards the prosumer would be willing to invest so much time in rendering, especially considering the computer becomes barely usable for other intensive tasks during the render process. No disrespect to Daz or Daz users. Like I said, I love it. I just wished 3Delight would get more love.

Comments

• alexhcowleyalexhcowley Posts: 2,310
    edited December 2018

There is no subjective answer to the 3DL versus Iray issue so I can only give my own personal view, based on my own personal experiences.

I was never happy with the lighting in 3DL, even using the various commercial products available in the store.  I find Iray lighting much easier to use. 

Cheers,

Alex.

Post edited by alexhcowley on
  • EsemwyEsemwy Posts: 577

I too find Iray much more intuitive, but will note the recent advent of the Iray to 3Delight converter, and a brand new shader system for 3Delight has me intrigued.