Iray

Hi

I'm a newbie to Daz 3D laugh

I've been looking at some add-ons for my Daz Studio, one of which is iRadiance Light Probe HDR Lighting for Iray - Expansion 6

Could someone point me in the right direction for information on what Iray is all about?

Although at this stage I'm not sure exactly what direction I will go in artistic creation but need to start somewhere, hey.

td3d sent me a gift voucher to use in the shop, thanks mate!

Comments

• I say you only few basic things: Iray is a render engine you can use for render your creation (the other one is 3Delight)...you can render Iray only with nVidia GPU. So you can render Iray with your hardware?

Maybe search on forum "iray" and you will find lots of thread about...wink

• HI Marco

Thanks for your reply and forum search tip yes

I think I will need to build a new PC with faster CPU and dedicated graphics card with a larger monitor.

My current basic laptop won't be able to handle the 3D software sufficiently to get serious with 3D rendering and processing.

Cheers

• Not sure if I'm allowed to post external links? Please let me know the rules in this regard...(newbie)

I found this website helpful from Nvidia regarding Iray, down the page it shows some graphs with GPU performance ratings.

Hopefully this may also help others setting up hardware for efficient 3D rendering.

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/design-visualization/iray/features/

• scorpioscorpio Posts: 8,317

I say you only few basic things: Iray is a render engine you can use for render your creation (the other one is 3Delight)...you can render Iray only with nVidia GPU. So you can render Iray with your hardware?

Maybe search on forum "iray" and you will find lots of thread about...wink

Wrong 

Iray can render with other than Nvidia cards but will render using CPU, which can be slow.