Exasperated newbie question.

marcizmarciz Posts: 0
edited September 2013 in New Users

In APRIL ('13), I purchased V5. I've been going back and forth with DAZ, on installing it, and I'm STILL confused/lost.

My intent was to use V5 in Poser 9.

I have installed the Poser 9 update, making the program 9.0.3.23027 .

I have installed the DSON importer in Poser 9--though I see no evidence of this if it is properly installed. I probably installed it in
the main (top) directory folder, like the tutorial says. (Program Files/Smith Micro/Poser 9.)

I have the Genesis Starter Essentials.zip and Genesis Starter Essentials Poser CF. zip files--which I didn't know I needed
when I started by buying V5. These are not yet installed in Poser9.

I am new to Poser 9 by maybe 5 or 6 months. I had (have) V4, in use in Poser 6, on a WinXP computer, and had
relatively few problems installing it when it came out. Been happy with that ever since.

I'm intending to use V5 in my Poser 9 installation, which is on a Windows 8 computer (64 bit).

I have maybe one day a week to fool with this, and that's why I'm still not using V5; I get lost with the instructions
I've been given--nomenclature is a problem.

So my question is this; are there any USER CREATED tutorials/videos, that might help me get up and running?

P.S. I do not use my Win 8 machine on the internet...prefer manual installation.

Post edited by marciz on

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 97,074
    edited December 1969

To check if the importer installed correctly, in your Scripts menu in Poser is there a sub menu for the DSON Support scripts?

Have you downloaded and installed the DAZ Install Manager (it will make things lightly easier if you have, but it isn't essential - and it will work fine on an offline machine)?

Where is your Poser content installed?

• marcizmarciz Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Ah, yes, the DSON item is in the Scripts menu.