Building my library - what are some good, versatile assets to buy when first starting?

I will be using Daz 3D renders for a Visual Novel I'm working on. There will be more female characters than male one, so having a set of versatile female characters is high priority. Setting will be mostly modern with some witchcraft elements. I would like to focus on the latest models so Gen 8. Since I am just starting out I don't want to spend a ton of money just yet. Any other advice you have for someone starting out? Thank you!

Comments

• Skin Builder 8 and the Head/Body morphs would seem a good place to start for the females - unfortunately there isn't a male version of Skin Builder 8.

• Iray Ghost Light Kit, Ghost Light Kit 2 and Render Studio Iray are my go-to lighting solutions, especially for any indoor shots.  DimensionTheory and Orestes Graphics both make great HDRI skies and additional lighting solutions as well.  Also, if you don't already have it, grab a PC+ Membership.  That opens up plenty of inexpensive (and sometimes free!) products for consideration.

• barbultbarbult Posts: 23,049

PC+ Membership is the thing to buy before anything else. It gives you discounts on Daz Original products, like the head and body morphs. It gives you a free item each week and a free item each month. Benefits are listed here. Membership is on sale right now. Someone has recommended buying a quarterly membership at 20% off to become a member and then buying an annual membership at the member rate of 50% off. The memberships will not overlap, the second will extend the first.

• PaintboxPaintbox Posts: 1,633

If you are low on memory for your render, go for the Scene Optimizer. https://www.daz3d.com/scene-optimizer. ; It allows you to smash those large texture into smaller ones, or remove them alltogether. For objects that are further away it makes little to no visual difference.

• ChezjuanChezjuan Posts: 502