How to fix hair folding/crimping/creasing?

Wasn't sure whether to put this in Technical Help or here, but since I'm new to all this I'll let this go here.

When I use this hair with certain more stylized models, the hair generates this weird crease, or crimp, or fold, or whatever.

I tried going into the hidden properties and removing some morphs which helped a little bit, but not too much.

The most obvious solution is to just use a different hair or not use Girl 8, but those are, for obvious reasons, not what I'd prefer to do. 

Some pictures are attached to illustrate the issue I'm having.

(The products, btw for anyone curious, are Girl 8 and Nerea Hair.)

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :D

hair-problem-1.png
636 x 534 - 510K
hair-problem-2.png
596 x 534 - 362K
hair-problem-3.png
143 x 143 - 31K

Comments

• BeeMKayBeeMKay Posts: 6,987

The easiest way is the one with which you can fit hair of any generation to a character:

Instead of fitting the hair to the character, make sure that the character is not selected. Load the hair into the scene. Then, move the hair so that it is in the correct position. In some cases, you'll need to adjust scale or scalp sizes (using the adjustment settings in the hair), depending on the hair and its original generation. Once the hair looks good in the posistion, select the "change parent" option and parent it to the head. The hair will then follw head movements, and you'll have full use of whatever bones are in the hair.

• intoxitonintoxiton Posts: 1
    edited September 2018

Oh! Wow, I didn't even consider that. I'll give that a shot when I regain patience for this shot again, haha.

EDIT: It's...something. There's no scalp/cap adjust settings on this particular hair for some reason, unfortunately, and I'm getting a lot of clipping. Might have to change the hair after all...in that case, any other recommendations for hairstyles? Something princess-y.

Post edited by intoxiton on
  • Syrus_DanteSyrus_Dante Posts: 983