Triax vs general weights for use in game engine (e.g. UE, Unity)

Please note, I am a programmer, not an artist. Whilst I understand low level programming, I do not understand advanced design. This is the reason for my question.

Just wondering about skin weights. More specifically: Triax vs 'General' Weight maps.

I am fairly set on using Genesis and Genesis 2 characters for my game.

The Triax weighting seems to really do the characters justice. I love how the deformatons work.

The Triax weighting seems superior in many ways to 'General' weights in DS. Does this superiority carry through when exported for a realtime game engine?

I have exported Daz3D characters and animated them in UE. They look great! I just wonder if there was a loss in quality (That my eyes can't detect) that G3 or G8 would have avoided?

Comments

• nonesuch00nonesuch00 Posts: 17,929
    edited June 2018

I always forget but I'm pretty sure triax weight maps aren't being supported in the game engine you've exported to but some general weightmapping is. What makes them look so good is probably the game engine using the general weighmap to subdivide the mesh in the game engine the same what it was in DAZ Studio. I think the algorithm is called openDiv. Those things are defined by the FBX standard, the obj interchange format, and other interchange formats.