New user; First serious render WIP

Hiya folks, my name's Tim, nice to meetcha.

So, my first serious render.  I've had Poser/Daz for quite a few years now, but have never really hunkered down and tried to break through the relatively steep learning curve until very recently.  Lately, I've bought a lot of stuff here and at Renderosity, and have been watching many a tutorial, so I can finally see if I can get decent with Daz.

Currently using Daz Studio 4.10, GPU rendering only (Zotac GTX 1080ti, single; No CPU checked).  iRay, render took about 40+ minutes and was still rendering when I cancelled and saved it.  

Some initial thoughts: 

-I need to work on lighting, even though I was going for a night scene.  I made a little 3-point light setup, but could probably stand to move them around and adjust their settings.  I am NOT good at setting up lighting yet.

-I really need to figure out how to make that rock-thing floating near his hand emit light, as if it were a magical artifact sort of deal.  I don't have a clue how I'm going to do that, haha.  Honestly, I'd like to dial down the brightness of the flower petals in the scene,and dial up that of the rock thingy.

-Learning how to change an objects surface for a shader that I like... I've changed all the stone, water, and ground surfaces in this sceneto iRay ones that I like.

-I'm sure there are more things that I need to work on, but as a novice user (read: total noob!) I am probably not even aware of some things I need to work on yet!

So, without further ado, my first serious WIP:  "Fish Man Rising"

Feedback and tips welcome and most appreciated!  

Have fun rendering :D

Fish Man Rising.png
2569 x 1311 - 6M

Comments

• nonesuch00nonesuch00 Posts: 17,944

Thats really good

• Hey, thanks for the comment, Nonesuch00.