Genesis 3 or Genesis 8: What's the difference and which is better?

Good evening all!

I'm kinda new to the whole 3D animation creator with Daz. I recently downloaded the software and started to mess with the default stuff they give you. So after looking on what i want to work with i'm stuck with genesis 3 or 8. My question is whats the difference and which is better to you? based on what i can gather so far i'm guessing is genesis 8 is natural looking, i guess. Also i notice people can use genesis 3 add-on and other stuff when working with 8, but does it really matter? can i just buy genesis 8 stuff alone? if someone can explain that would be awesome. 

Also bonus questions: since i have no asses or plus what are come recommendations for lighting, poses, colors, animation plugs ect. basically stuff you can use to make comics and a little extra, anyway hope to here from someone soon. Thank you! smiley

Comments

• Serene NightSerene Night Posts: 17,560

Genesis 8 has superior expressions and posing than Genesis 3. They are actually pretty close to the same figure with some differences in certain body parts

• frankrblowfrankrblow Posts: 2,052

Why not both G3 and G8? Since you're new to Studio, go with your own preferences. Currently, there is more product available for G3, but that will change... and  then there will be G9... So, enjoy yourself. Read up on what interests you, and get rendering.

As for lighting, it depends. Do you want to get into all the nitty gritty, or rendering art? I like to render, and after many years, and a LOT of money, I find I use two "light" sets more than anything else. 99% of my renders use, for inside: https://www.daz3d.com/iray-ghost-light-kit-2 and for outside: https://www.daz3d.com/iray-worlds-skydome , I do have expansions, but those two cover almost all my needs. Buy them when they are on sale.

BUT, the best, and first thing to buy is Platinum Club membership. It will pay for itself in no time.