"Noise bump" using shader builder or mixer?

V3DigitimesV3Digitimes Posts: 3,049

Hello,
I'm not a total beginner in 3D, but a total beginner for DAZ materials creation.
I have a problem understanding DAZ shaders.
I'm trying to add a "noise type" bump to one of my materials.

It was very easy to to on poser, I just had to grab a link from "noise mathematical node" to "the bump node" and adjust the parameters. I thought it was going easy too on DAZ. But it is not.
During the last few hours, I discovered the existence of "shader mixers" and "shader builders". So I watched daz official tutorials about mixers (presentation and number 1 out of 2)... But I still cannot find the answer. What I have done is creating a noise image on photoshop and used it as a texture map for my material's bump, but I'm not satisfied with this solution.

So, does anyone know how to create a bump relying on a mathematical "noise"? Or does anyone have a link to a tutorial (free or not) which will explain me how to do it?
Thanks in advance for your help,

PS : if it can help you to see what I'm looking for, here is the result I would like to have on DAZ (the next image comes from poser). It is concerning the material for the sole, I would like to have this kind of bump :

solebump.jpg
375 x 321 - 36K
Post edited by V3Digitimes on

Comments

• Oom FooyatOom Fooyat Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Do you know how to set up Shader Mixer for displacement? I think that is covered in the two tutorials (there is a bug in DS4.0 that can create some confusion.)
    The Shader Mixer Noise-brick (under textures) might not be the best source for this, try "Spots" or "Fractal Sum" (also under textures). Or maybe both one for bump and the other for displacement. Holler if you need a recipe to get going.

Cheers! Oom

• V3DigitimesV3Digitimes Posts: 3,049
    edited June 2012

Thank you for your answer.
    I know absolutely nothing on the shader builder or mixer, since I always used "basic" materials.