Should Install Manager be on all machines that have DazStudio4?

edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

So I use both a laptop and a desktop to do my rendering (depending on where I am when the urge to create hits me.) So both my laptop and my desktop need the content on them. Does Daz recommend that I run Install Manager on both machines to keep my content up to date or does it recommend that I copy the content folder from one machine (which would be kept up to date with Install Manager) to the other machine?

I ask because I know for straight downloads there is an upper limit to how often you can download files without contacting Daz to have them reset your downloads and I don't know if there is something similar in Install Manager.

Boojum the brown bunny

Comments

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 98,314
    edited December 1969

    The DIM doesn't seem to mind about multiple downloads, so if your bandwidth will stand it you could install and run on both machines - but copying the isntalled content across from one machine to the other should eb fine too.

  • edited December 1969

    Since install manger also handles upgrading content I would sort of rather just install it on both systems and let it keep the Daz products up to date. I hate copying runtimes. I'm backing up the runtimes on my laptop right now and it's 113GB in size! Yeesh. If I install Install manager on both systems then only the new stuff get's downloaded and updated, which takes a lot less time.

    Boojum

  • CypherFOXCypherFOX Posts: 3,401
    edited March 2013

    Greetings,
    Fair warning, as far as I can tell if you install and sync to other machines, then the Content Manager doesn't get updated across them. This is how I work, installing to a DropBox backed folder which synchronizes to all my machines that can run DAZ Studio. Unfortunately Smart Content appears to have devolved sufficiently that I'm mostly unable to use it anymore, due to this.

    If I hunted down the CMS directories and made it run from the DropBox-backed directory it might work, but then the database might change underneath the CMS process, and I bet that would get its bits twisted into knots. :(

    -- Morgan

    p.s. Just to be clear, I know that this is a HARD problem. Multi-machine synchronization is sufficiently difficult that one engineer I know of took two years off of updating their primary product just to get it exactly right. It's magical, now, but it took far too long to get right.

    Post edited by CypherFOX on
  • fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969

    You could also download the files just once, but have Install Manager on all machines to install them separately.

  • Patrik RuzicPatrik Ruzic Posts: 9
    edited December 1969

    The DIM doesn't seem to mind about multiple downloads, so if your bandwidth will stand it you could install and run on both machines - but copying the isntalled content across from one machine to the other should eb fine too.

    If I understand correctly via Install Manager I can download same file more then 5 times without contacting DAZ to reset downloads ???

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 98,314
    edited December 1969

    Wampa said:
    The DIM doesn't seem to mind about multiple downloads, so if your bandwidth will stand it you could install and run on both machines - but copying the isntalled content across from one machine to the other should eb fine too.

    If I understand correctly via Install Manager I can download same file more then 5 times without contacting DAZ to reset downloads ???

    As far as I know, yes - the DIM simply lists available products, there's no reset involved in downloading, but being on a capped bandwidth tariff I haven't tried this myself.

  • hermana5hermana5 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    I have it installed on both laptops so each is updated as and when necessary without me interfering and messing up lol, The plan is if i mess up on one making new categories then i know for sure the other should be perfect she says hopefully!

Sign In or Register to comment.